MWM finalises four-car Altima Super2 squad

Josh Fife’s MW Motorsport Altima

MW Motorsport has finalised its four-strong Nissan Altima line-up for this year’s Dunlop Super2 Series.

As predicted by, the renewal of Jayden Ojeda and the return of Tyler Everingham means that the back-to-back series-winning team will expand to a quartet of Super2 entries this year.

Ojeda, last year’s leading rookie, and Everingham, who won a race with MWM as a Super2 rookie in 2019, join the already announced Josh Fife and Declan Fraser, following the purchase of another Altima from Kelly Racing.

All four will test today and tomorrow at Winton, ahead of Round 1 at the Repco Mount Panorama 500 on February 26-28.

“It’s fantastic to lock away our driver line-up in an expanded effort for the 2021 Super2 Series,” said team owner Matthew White.

“All four drivers are young, keen and very talented in their own right. The current Super2 field looks very competitive, so we are looking forward to the challenge of racing against a tough field.

“Running the four Altimas in the same class really makes sense for our team.

“We haven’t done this before, but consolidating all of our energies into the same type of cars in the same class was important for us. It means we’ll have a large amount of data for our drivers and team to work from.

“Last year, we had three Altimas in Super2 and a Falcon in Super3, and while we were able to do it successfully, it did present some hurdles. This year, we’ll be very well placed.

“Starting the season at Mount Panorama is an excellent opportunity for our drivers.

“We’ve had some great success at Bathurst in the past, and with the two-day test at Winton under our belts, our team is confident that we’ll be ready to take the fight to the field.”

Jayden Ojeda

As was the case two years ago, and when he won the Super3 title in an MWM FG Falcon in 2018, Everingham will sport #27 on an Altima, backed by Lowes Petroleum and Blue Ribbon Legal.

Fife, who moves across from Brad Jones Racing with the blessing of Jones himself, the Canberran’s manager, races with a traditional MWM identifier in #28 and sponsorship from NGW Group.

Ojeda retains #31 and support from Jayco and Sparesbox, while Fraser will race with #777 and backing from Oz Property Investment Centre.

The latter was the main rival in the Super3 class last year of then-MWM driver Jaylyn Robotham, who has made the step up to Super2 in the Image Racing/Erebus Motorsport entry.

MWM has won the Super2 series for the last two years, with Bryce Fullwood and then Thomas Randle in the same Altima chassis, and also bagged the title in 2009 with Jonathon Webb and in 2013 with Dale Wood, in Falcons.

Tyler Everingham

Declan Fraser


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]