De Pasquale to run special number in season opener

Anton De Pasquale will run #100

Shell V-Power Racing driver Anton De Pasquale will run a one-off number in the Supercars season opener.

To celebrate the launch of the 100th Pirtek franchise in Australia, De Pasquale will run #100 on his Ford Mustang in the Repco Mount Panorama 500.

It is believed that the 25-year-old will run #11 for the remainder of the Repco Supercars Championship.

“Pirtek is not only a fantastic partner in racing but they’re also a great partner in business with us, so what better way to congratulate them on further extending their nationwide coverage than by running the number 100 on Anton’s Mustang for the season opener,” said Dick Johnson Racing managing director Ryan Story.

“We’re also delighted to be able to announce a new multi-year renewal with Pirtek who has been a great and loyal supporter of our race team and of motorsport for many years.”

Mark Devitt, Pirtek Australia chief operating officer, added, “Hitting the 100 mark is a significant achievement in the company’s 41-year history.

“Pirtek has been a major sponsor of Dick Johnson Racing since 2015 and enjoyed being a part of multiple Drivers’ and Teams’ championships by supplying many products such as fuel and air hose for critical pit stops.

“To see the number 100 on the Shell V-Power Racing Team car is a great tribute to our many wonderful franchisees and every one of them can take pride in knowing they have all played a role in helping the company achieve that success.

“We are delighted to welcome Jack Fuller as our new franchisee of Pirtek Albany, making it 12 locations across WA.

“We are excited to have several other new locations coming online over the next few months; it is a testament to the Pirtek brand’s strength and resilience.”

This year marks the first season at Dick Johnson Racing for the Melbourne-born driver.

De Pasquale has finished 20th, 14th, and eighth in the drivers’ championship in his three seasons to date.

A move to the Stapylton team comes after Scott McLaughlin switched to the IndyCar Series with Team Penske while Fabian Coulthard shifted stables to Team Sydney.

The season-opening Repco Mount Panorama 500 takes place over February 26-28.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]