Holdsworth takes out TCR opener at Symmons Plains

Lee Holdsworth ahead of Jordan Cox Picture: TCR Australia

Lee Holdsworth has come from behind to win Race 1 of the 2021 Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Symmons Plains.

Holdsworth had put his Ashley Seward Motorsport (ASM) Alfa Romeo on pole position and while he lost the start to Jordan Cox, the lead was his before the halfway mark and remained that way thereafter.

Jay Hanson made it an all-Alfa Romeo top three, but only after contact with Chaz Mostert which pitched the Bathurst 1000 winner’s Audi into a spin late in the piece.

Mostert made up one position following that incident to take the chequered flag in sixth spot, while Michael Caruso got back to 12th after a pit lane start.

Caruso’s Alfa Romeo had become stuck in gear before the start and the Garry Rogers Motorsport driver was not able to take off for what would be the first of two formation laps.

In some small consolation, Car #7 was fired up again after initially being towed into the infield, while it was his team-mate Cox who got the jump when the race finally got underway.

Holdsworth stuck close enough to give Car #5 a nudge at the hairpin on Lap 4 and took over the lead under brakes at the end of the back straight on Lap 6.

By then, Mostert (Audi) had relieved Jay Hanson of third spot with a dive at the same corner, two laps earlier.

Mostert did not look a threat for the two Giulliettas up the road but the one behind proved more than a threat when there was a coming-together at the hairpin on Lap 17.

He dropped to seventh but managed to regain one position in the three laps which remained.

Meanwhile, Holdsworth twice came close to stretching his margin beyond a second, and it was officially 0.7763s when he and Cox reached the chequered flag after 20 laps.

Hanson ended up third in another ASM entry, from Josh Buchan (Hyundai) and Aaron Cameron (Peugeot).

Seventh through 10th was Luke King (Audi), Brad Shiels (Hyundai), Nathan Morcom (Hyundai), and James Moffat (Renault).

Jason Bargwanna (Peugeot) finished 11th in a race which was initially shortened by one lap to 24 due to the extra formation lap and ran time-certain anyway.

Race 2 takes place tomorrow at Boost Mobile Race Tasmania at 11:13 local time/AEDT.

Results: Race 1 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 18:55.5248
2 5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 18:56.3011
3 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 20 19:05.0179
4 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 20 19:08.2649
5 25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 20 19:08.5493
6 2 MPC Moutai Luke King Audi RS 3 20 19:09.4984
7 9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 19:09.8674
8 333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 20 19:10.1259
9 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 20 19:11.1654
10 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 20 19:11.7033
11 17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 20 19:14.2254
12 7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 19:17.4497
13 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 20 19:18.6985
14 33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 20 19:19.1194
15 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 20 19:19.6874
16 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 20 19:20.0454
17 24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 20 19:20.4422
18 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 20 19:20.9265

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]