Hanson penalised for Mostert hit

Jay Hanson. Picture: TCR Australia

Jay Hanson has been issued a 10-second penalty for taking out Chaz Mostert in Race 1 of the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series at Symmons Plains.

The Alfa Romeo driver made contact with Mostert at the hairpin on Lap 17, causing the #25 Audi to spin.

Hanson took the chequered flag in third, the position Mostert has held, but will be reclassified in seventh as a result of the time addition, which a Motorsport Australia spokesperson has confirmed.

Mostert in turn rises from a provisional sixth to fifth position, all told.

The Bathurst 1000 winner had said that he would “like to see something” for the incident, for which Hanson freely accepted responsibility in comments made just after the race.

In S5000, which is also on the bill at Boost Mobile Race Tasmania, Cooper Webster was disqualified from a finishing position of eighth in Heat 1 for a breach of sporting regulations.

Specifically, Webster has found to have failed to wear the appropriate fireproof undergarments.

Results: Race 1 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport Lee Holdsworth Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 18:55.5248
2 5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 18:56.3011
3 30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N 20 19:05.0179
4 18 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR 20 19:08.2649
5 25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3 20 19:08.5493
6 2 MPC Moutai Luke King Audi RS 3 20 19:09.4984
7 9 Ashley Seward Motorsport Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 19:09.8674
8 333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N 20 19:10.1259
9 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N 20 19:11.1654
10 34 LMCT+ Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS 20 19:11.7033
11 17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 20 19:14.2254
12 7 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 19:17.4497
13 71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR 20 19:18.6985
14 33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS 20 19:19.1194
15 50 Honda Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 20 19:19.6874
16 15 Michael Clemente Motorsport Michael Clemente Honda Civic Type R 20 19:20.0454
17 24 Mobil 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 20 19:20.4422
18 110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Soutar Honda Civic Type R 20 19:20.9265

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]