Herfoss claims final ASBK pole of 2020

Troy Herfoss pic: ASBK live stream

Troy Herfoss has qualified fastest for the final round of the 2020 Australian Superbike Championship at Wakefield Park, one spot ahead of points leader Wayne Maxwell.

Herfoss sat second to Maxwell before clocking a 57.850s midway through his second run, and a 57.818s on his next lap.

The Penrite Honda rider had one more improvement in him, lapping the Goulburn circuit in 57.663s just before the chequered flag.

Maxwell’s best on his Boost Mobile Ducati was a 57.984s at the end of his first run, while Glenn Allerton (BMW) ended up third with a late 58.051s.

Row 2 will be Cru Halliday (Yamaha), Mike Jones (Ducati), and Bryan Staring (Kawasaki), with the top 10 rounded out by Aiden Wagner (Yamaha), Josh Waters (Suzuki), Arthur Sissis (Suzuki), and Jed Metcher (Yamaha).

With the point for pole, Herfoss has reduced Maxwell’s championship lead to 16 points, but the latter would clinch the title by finishing both of today’s races in second position, as he did in Round 2 the day prior.

Race 1 of Round 3 is scheduled for 12:15 local time/AEDT, with Race 2 at 14:50.

Results: Qualifying, Wakefield Park

Pos Num Rider Team Bike Qual 1 Qual 2
1 17 Troy HERFOSS Penrite Honda Racing Honda CBR   57.663
2 47 Wayne MAXWELL Boost Mobile Racing with K-Tech Ducati V4R   57.984
3 14 Glenn ALLERTON Maxima BMW BMW S RR   58.051
4 65 Cru HALLIDAY Yamaha Racing Team Yamaha YZF-R1M   58.121
5 1 Mike JONES Desmosport Ducati Ducati V4R   58.150
6 67 Bryan STARING Kawasaki Australia Kawasaki ZX10R   58.283
7 28 Aiden WAGNER Yamaha Racing Team Yamaha YZF-R1M   58.580
8 21 Josh WATERS Ngurra Civil & Construction Suzuki GSXRR   58.594
9 61 Arthur SISSIS Unitech Racing Suzuki GSXRR   59.194
10 13 Jed METCHER Valid Technologies Yamaha YZF-R1M 59.700 59.328
11 83 Lachlan EPIS Response Real Estate Suzuki GSXRR 59.635 59.423
12 68 Glenn SCOTT Kawasaki Australia Kawasaki ZX10R 1:00.124 59.461
13 62 Brendan McINTYRE Western M-cycles Suzuki GSXRR 1:00.146  
14 16 Luke JHONSTON Motogo Yamaha Yamaha R1 1:00.192  
15 88 Giuseppe SCARCELLA Forcite Helmets Ducati Panigale 1:00.859  
16 78 Nathan SPITERI Livson Suzuki GSXRR 1:01.255  
17 51 Chandler COOPER Rock Solid Civil Honda CBR 1:01.535  
18 37 Michael EDWARDS Northstar Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R1M 1:01.832  

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]