Herfoss beats Maxwell in ASBK Race 1 at Wakefield Park

Troy Herfoss pic: Russell Colvin

Troy Herfoss has overcome Wayne Maxwell to win the opening race of Round 2 of the Australian Superbike Championship at Wakefield Park.

Herfoss converted pole position in the Kawasaki Superbike class into the initial lead, ahead of Maxwell, Glenn Allerton (BMW), and Bryan Staring (Kawasaki).

He held top spot until he arrived at Turn 10 (final corner) on the opening lap, where he ran his Honda wide and let Maxwell through.

However, the championship leader could hardly shake Herfoss and, after resisting one challenge on the run to the Fish Hook, ceded first position there on Lap 6.

Maxwell briefly put his Ducati back in the lead with a pass at the start of Lap 7 but Herfoss repeated his earlier move on the following lap and remained in front thereafter.

The Goulburn native, who started the weekend fifth in the standings, had a margin of 0.728s when the chequered flag flew after 18 laps, with Allerton 7.397s behind him in third spot.

Staring held on to fourth while Cru Halliday (Yamaha), who pressured the Kawasaki rider in the early stages before losing a couple of spots when he ran long at the Fish Hook, salvaged fifth at the last corner.

Rounding out the top 10 were Aiden Wagner (Yamaha), Mike Jones (Ducati), Josh Waters (Suzuki), Arthur Sissis (Suzuki), and Jed Metcher (Yamaha).

Race 2, another 18-lapper, is scheduled for 14:15 local time/AEDT.

Results: Race 1, Wakefield Park

Pos Num Rider Team Bike Laps Race time
1 17 Troy HERFOSS Penrite Honda Racing Honda CBR 18 17:23.104
2 47 Wayne MAXWELL Boost Mobile Racing with K-Tech Ducati V4R 18 17:23.832
3 14 Glenn ALLERTON Maxima BMW BMW S RR 18 17:30.501
4 67 Bryan STARING Kawasaki Australia Kawasaki ZX10R 18 17:33.981
5 65 Cru HALLIDAY Yamaha Racing Team Yamaha YZF-R1M 18 17:34.221
6 28 Aiden WAGNER Yamaha Racing Team Yamaha YZF-R1M 18 17:34.386
7 1 Mike JONES Desmosport Ducati Ducati V4R 18 17:34.638
8 21 Josh WATERS Ngurra Civil & Construction Suzuki GSXRR 18 17:45.271
9 61 Arthur SISSIS Unitech Racing Suzuki GSXRR 18 17:47.568
10 13 Jed METCHER Valid Technologies Yamaha YZF-R1M 18 17:54.268
11 68 Glenn SCOTT Kawasaki Australia Kawasaki ZX10R 18 17:55.751
12 83 Lachlan EPIS Response Real Estate Suzuki GSXRR 18 18:09.488
13 16 Luke JHONSTON Motogo Yamaha Yamaha R1 18 18:09.669
14 62 Brendan McINTYRE Western M-cycles Suzuki GSXRR 18 18:15.951
15 51 Chandler COOPER Rock Solid Civil Honda CBR 17 17:24.669
16 37 Michael EDWARDS Northstar Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R1M 16 18:07.637
DNF 78 Nathan SPITERI Livson Suzuki GSXRR 8 8:25.535
DNF 88 Giuseppe SCARCELLA Forcite Helmets Ducati Panigale 6 6:13.312

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]