Morbidelli wins as Miller crashes out of Teruel MotoGP

Franco Morbidelli pic:

Franco Morbidelli has won his second MotoGP race from Alex Rins and Joan Mir at the Teruel Grand Prix in Spain.

The result came as pole-sitter Takaaki Nakagami crashed out while leading on the opening lap, with Jack Miller was also an early retirement.

The demise of the Japanese rider paved the way for Morbidelli to assume the lead from Rins.

Miller was involved in a crash at Turn 2 on the opening lap which also accounted for Brad Binder for which the South African was sanctioned post-race.

That will see the KTM rider serve a long lap penalty at the Grand Prix of Europe next time out after he was “found to be riding in an irresponsible manner causing a crash”.

Morbidelli and Rins opened a margin out front ahead of Johann Zarco in third, extending it to more than half a second after four laps of the Aragon circuit.

Between the front two a similar gap, though slightly smaller, had emerged as Rins struggled to keep pace with the race leader.

Strong progress in the early stages saw Mir move forward, the Spaniard climbing to fifth on the opening lap after starting 12th.

The 23-year-old moved into the podium places on Lap 11, but was by then out of touch with the two runners ahead.

Fabio Quartararo had a tough afternoon, bringing home the Yamaha in eighth while Petronas SRT team-mate Morbidelli claimed victory.

The final margin between the Italian and Rins in second at the flag was 2.2s, the Suzuki rider’s spirit having been broken in the closing laps.

Championship contender Andrea Dovizioso crossed the line 13th, a result which leaves him 28 points behind Mir in the points standings.

The MotoGP season next heads to Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Valencia on November 8 for the Grand Prix of Europe, the first of two successive events at the venue.

Race results: Teruel MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Race time
1 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 41:47.652
2 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +2.205
3 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +5.376
4 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +10.299
5 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Esponsorama Racing Ducati +12.915
6 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM +12.953
7 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +14.262
8 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +14.720
9 27 Iker LECUONA ESP Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM +17.177
10 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Ducati Team Ducati +19.519
11 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda +19.708
12 6 Stefan BRADL GER Repsol Honda Team Honda +20.591
13 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati +22.222
14 53 Tito RABAT ESP Esponsorama Racing Ducati +26.496
15 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +31.816
DNF 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 3 Laps
DNF 73 Alex MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 10 Laps
DNF 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 18 Laps
DNF 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 0 Lap
DNF 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 0 Lap
DNF 33 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0 Lap

Race winner: 23 laps

Championship points

Pos Rider Nat Pts
1 Joan MIR ESP 137
3 Maverick VIÑALES ESP 118
5 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA 109
6 Alex RINS ESP 105
7 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN 92
9 Jack MILLER AUS 82
10 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR 79
11 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA 71
12 Brad BINDER RSA 67
13 Alex MARQUEZ ESP 67
14 Johann ZARCO FRA 64
15 Valentino ROSSI ITA 58
16 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA 42
17 Iker LECUONA ESP 27
20 Stefan BRADL GER 12
21 Bradley SMITH GBR 12
22 Tito RABAT ESP 10
23 Michele PIRRO ITA 4

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]