Percat penalised for weight infringement

Nick Percat

Nick Percat has had his time in the Top 10 Shootout for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 scratched for a technical breach.

The #8 Holden ZB Commodore driven by Percat and Super2 Series points leader Thomas Randle was set to start from fourth.

However, the pair will now start Sunday’s race from 10th after the car was found to be two kilograms underweight.

It means Red Bull Holden Racing Team duo Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander in the #97 have been promoted to the second row.

They will start alongside the #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Racing entry of Chaz Mostert and Warren Luff.

Monster Energy Racing driver Cameron Waters took pole position for the Great Race with Will Davison in the #6 Ford Mustang.

The Tickford Racing duo will line up alongside Shell V-Power Racing Team pair Scott McLaughlin and Tim Slade in the #17.

Elsewhere, Triple Eight Race Engineering picked up a $500 fine after #888 struck a spare wheel while leaving its pit bay.

Results: Top 10 Shootout, Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 2:03.5592  
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 2:04.0021 0:00.4429
3 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.0100 0:00.4508
4 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.4511 0:00.8919
5 5 Truck Assist Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 2:04.6765 0:01.1173
6 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.7688 0:01.2096
7 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 2:04.8534 0:01.2942
8 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 2:05.3549 0:01.7957
9 888 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 2:06.3941 0:02.8349
DSQ 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB    

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]