McLaughlin sets fastest lap before crashing in Practice 5

Daniel Herrero


Friday 16th October, 2020 - 1:28pm


Scott McLaughlin crashes pic: Fox Sports

Scott McLaughlin set the fastest lap before crabbing back to the pits after hitting the wall in Practice 5 for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The 2019 Great Race winner laid down a 2:04.3716s with green tyres, 43 minutes into the hour-long session at Mount Panorama, but came to grief when he went for an apparent qualifying simulation right at the end.

McLaughlin was fastest to the first sector but a snaggy gear change as he came down the mountain caused the back of the #17 Mustang to break free, and the left-rear corner made sizeable contact with the wall just above Forrest’s Elbow before the front was pulled in.

McLaughlin spun into that left-hander and while he was able to drive back to the pits, the Shell V-Power Racing Team machine was obviously bent.

The incident may have also denied several of his rivals a chance to improve on their personal best lap times, leaving championship rookie Bryce Fullwood second at 0.1133s off the pace in the #2 Mobil 1 Middy’s ZB Commodore.

Thursday fast man Cameron Waters did go fastest to the second sector subsequent to McLaughlin’s crash but opted to pit instead of completing the lap, and the #6 Monster Energy Mustang remained fourth on the timesheet, behind the sister Tickford Racing entry of Lee Holdsworth (#5 Truck Assist Mustang).

Jamie Whincup (#888 ZB Commodore) ended up fifth, one spot up on fellow Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver Shane van Gisbergen (#97 ZB Commodore).

When the session began, it was only Nick Percat in the ‘fives’ having driven the #8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore to a 2:05.9806s.

McLaughlin clocked a 2:05.8809s and then a 2:05.6373s on his subsequent flyers but Waters held sway after his first run proper with a 2:05.5595s.

Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore) then closed to 0.0072s off the pace, before McLaughlin raised the bar with a 2:05.3983s despite a somewhat untidy run out of The Chase.

James Courtney (#44 Boost Mobile Mustang) came close to knocking #17 off its perch when he set a 2:05.4422s on his third run, while Mostert did beat it when he punched out a 2:04.7582s just after the half-hour mark.

That lap was reportedly completed on new tyres while McLaughlin and Waters went out with used rubber for their third runs.

The former moved to second with a 2:05.3750s before the latter clocked a 2:04.6758s to take over first position.

Jamie Whincup took greens for his third run and, after giving up one lap due to a moment at Griffins, drove the #888 Triple Eight Race Engineering car to a 2:04.6280s.

McLaughlin went out on new tyres on his fourth run and duly reclaimed first position with a 2:04.3716s, before Holdsworth moved to second with a 2:04.5299s.

Fullwood, the recently re-signed Walkinshaw Andretti United driver, then fired in a 2:04.4849s, bumping Holdsworth to third, from Waters and Whincup, ahead of the final runs.

Only a handful had a chance to then go for really hot laps due to McLaughlin’s crash, leaving that top five unchanged.

Van Gisbergen got in a 2:04.6792s just before that moment to move up to sixth, ahead of Mostert, Alex Davison (#19 Local Legends ZB Commodore), Courtney, and Scott Pye (#20 DeWalt ZB Commodore).

Percat ended up 11th and Jack Le Brocq (#55 Supercheap Auto Mustang) 12th in a session run once again in slightly overcast conditions.

Both of the cars which caused red flags in Practice 4 were back on-track.

Todd Hazelwood putting the #14 Cub Cadet ZB Commodore 15th and Tyler Everingham ended up at the foot of the timesheet in the #40 Valvoline ZB Commodore after their co-drivers had incidents in the preceding hit-out.

Although there were a handful of offs in Practice 5, McLaughlin’s was the only major on-track mishap, while Matt Stone Racing encountered an oil leak in the #35 Yellow Cover ZB Commodore.

The next session for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship field is Qualifying, at 16:05 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 5

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Fastest lap Split
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 2:04.3716  
2 2 Mobil 1 TM Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.4849 0:00.1133
3 5 Truck Assist Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 2:04.5299 0:00.1583
4 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 2:04.5437 0:00.1721
5 888 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.6280 0:00.2564
6 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.6792 0:00.3076
7 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.7582 0:00.3866
8 19 Local Legends Racing Alex Davison Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.8075 0:00.4359
9 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 2:04.8543 0:00.4827
10 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.9309 0:00.5593
11 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 2:04.9438 0:00.5722
12 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 2:05.1590 0:00.7874
13 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 2:05.2312 0:00.8596
14 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 2:05.2912 0:00.9196
15 14 Cub Cadet Mowers Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 2:05.4324 0:01.0608
16 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 2:05.4877 0:01.1161
17 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Ford Mustang GT 2:05.5619 0:01.1903
18 34 UNIT Racing J.Kostecki/Z.Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 2:05.5973 0:01.2257
19 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 2:05.8190 0:01.4474
20 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 2:05.8702 0:01.4986
21 3 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 2:06.3173 0:01.9457
22 35 Yellow Cover Racing Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 2:06.5916 0:02.2200
23 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 2:06.7636 0:02.3920
24 22 Team SYDNEY C.Pither/S.Owen Holden Commodore ZB 2:06.8063 0:02.4347
25 40 Team Valvoline GRM Tyler Everingham Holden Commodore ZB 2:06.9094 0:02.5378 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!