Organisers predict 25 car Toyota 86 field for Bathurst Cup

The Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia 86 Series at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

A field of up to 25 Toyota 86s are expected to compete for the Bathurst Cup at Mount Panorama in support of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia 86 Series is one of four categories on the undercard for the event, the first time the series has competed in an interrupted 2020.

They will take part in four non-championship races that will form the across the weekend with Harry Bates joining the fray as an invited driver.

“With the 2020 TGRA 86 Series having been cancelled due to COVID-19, we saw the opportunity to show our support for up-and-coming drivers and the grassroots motorsports community by running a one-off Bathurst Cup,” said John Pappas, Toyota Australia’s Chief Marketing Officer.

“Under the Toyota Gazoo Racing brand, we are firmly committed to supporting motorsport at all levels, from our recently crowned third-time winners of the Le Mans 24-hour in the TS050, to the 86 racers and TGRA rally team here in Australia.

“There is no better place to wrap up what has been a difficult year for drivers and motorsport fans than the spiritual home of Australian motorsport at Bathurst.

“And next year, the TGRA 86 Series will be back on track as we hope and look forward to a full season of racing action and the further development of tomorrow’s champions.”

Among the entries is 2019 series winner Aaron Borg, and 2018 winner Tim Brook.

Race winner Cameron Hill is also poised to return the category after stepping up to Porsche Carrera Cup Australia competition in 2018.

TGRA86 Series joins Super2/V8 Touring Cars, Aussie Tin Tops, and a mixed historics grid in support of the Bathurst 1000 on October 15-18.

Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia 86 Series Entry List

Num Team Driver
1 Sieders Racing Team Aaron Borg
2 PERTAMINA / Fast Track Communications Luke King
3 Sieders Racing Team Harrison Gray
7 Sieders Racing Team Cameron Crick
8 Team RSG Hayden Jackson
10 Holdsworth Motorsport James Holdsworth
13 Team Stinger Stephen Butcher
15 Kaizen Racing James Wilkins
16 Angaston Motors Bradley Vaughan
18 Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport Lachlan Gibbons
27 CXC Racing Dylan Thomas
29 TekworkX Motorsport Oliver Shannon
30 Jobe Stewart Racing Jobe Stewart
33 Erebus Academy / All 4 Mechanical Bailey Sweeny
34 McLaren Real Estate Macarthur Tim Brook
41 MTA NSW / Advanced Automotive / Wholesale Diesel Kody Garland
55 Nova Air & Electrical / Haymans Electrical Gavan Reynolds
57 Brema Group Racing Alec Morse
66 Allstars Pheasant Wood Circuit Racing Jake Lougher
77 CXC Racing Jay Hanson
85 Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia Cameron Hill
86 Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia Harry Bates
87 Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia Lewis Bates
89 Bryan van Eck
90 Intersales CASE IH Racing Jarrod Whitty
94 Nash Bush Racing Nash Morris
777 Holly Espray Racing Holly Espray

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]