Power takes Race 1 win at Mid-Ohio

Mat Coch


Sunday 13th September, 2020 - 11:08am


Power leads the field

Team Penske driver Will Power has claimed his first win of the 2020 IndyCar Series in the first of two races at Mid-Ohio this weekend.

The Australian started from pole and controlled the 75-lap encounter to win from team-mate Josef Newgarden by 7.4 seconds.

It was his 60th pole position and 38th IndyCar career win, coming more than a year after his last success at Portland at the back end of the 2019 campaign.

Series leader Scott Dixon finished 10th, a result which saw Newgarden reduce his deficit to the New Zealander to 76 points with four races still to run.

Alexander Rossi was third across the line, nearly nine seconds down on Power, with the top five rounded out by Graham Rahal and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Rossi had looked to use strategy to challenge Power at the front, attempting to overcut the Team Penske driver at the first round of stops.

He then pitted first for the second round in an effort to undercut his rival, but his efforts could not overcome Team Penske and he was forced to settle for third.

The 10th place finish for Dixon marked his second-worst result of the year.

He qualified just 17th and though improved quickly in the early laps his progress stagnated once he reached the fringes of the top 10.

Third place in the standings, Pato Ward, was one spot behind Dixon at the finish, helping to mitigate the impact of the result.

The race ran its duration caution free, with only a scuffle between Simon Pagenaud and Macro Andretti at the Keyhole, and another off the Andretti at the same corner later in proceedings the only incidents of note.

The green flag for Race 2 at Mid-Ohio is scheduled to fly at 03:00 AEST on Monday morning.

Results: Race 10, Mid-Ohio

Pos Num Driver C/E/T Race time/Split Pit stops Status Grid pos
1 12 Will Power D/C/F 1:29:08.9095 2 Running 1
2 1 Josef Newgarden D/C/F +7.4523 2 Running 3
3 27 Alexander Rossi D/H/F +8.9922 2 Running 6
4 15 Graham Rahal D/H/F +9.2323 2 Running 8
5 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay D/H/F +13.2281 2 Running 2
6 10 Felix Rosenqvist D/H/F +14.1171 2 Running 7
7 60 Jack Harvey D/H/F +18.2198 2 Running 5
8 21 Rinus VeeKay (R) D/C/F +19.2468 2 Running 9
9 88 Colton Herta D/H/F +26.0264 2 Running 13
10 9 Scott Dixon D/H/F +32.7179 2 Running 17
11 5 Pato O’Ward D/C/F +33.6137 2 Running 15
12 55 Alex Palou (R) D/H/F +34.4767 2 Running 20
13 20 Conor Daly D/C/F +39.3069 3 Running 4
14 18 Santino Ferrucci D/H/F +42.9962 2 Running 14
15 8 Marcus Ericsson D/H/F +43.6952 2 Running 21
16 59 Max Chilton D/C/F +44.4717 2 Running 12
17 30 Takuma Sato D/H/F +45.8415 2 Running 18
18 22 Simon Pagenaud D/C/F +46.2387 2 Running 10
19 7 Oliver Askew (R) D/C/F +1:08.4106 2 Running 16
20 26 Zach Veach D/H/F +1 lap 2 Running 19
21 4 Charlie Kimball D/C/F +1 lap 2 Running 22
22 14 Dalton Kellett (R) D/C/F +1 lap 2 Running 23
23 98 Marco Andretti D/H/F +1 lap 2 Running 11

Race winner: 75 laps
(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!