Waters beats McLaughlin by thousandths in Practice 2

Daniel Herrero


Saturday 5th September, 2020 - 12:10pm


Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters has gone fastest in Practice 2 at the Robson Civil Projects Townsville SuperSprint by a margin of 0.0029s over Scott McLaughlin.

McLaughlin held sway for much of the half-hour session and drove the #17 Shell V-Power Mustang to a 1:12.3421s in the final minutes.

The championship leader was knocked off top spot after the chequered flag when Waters set his 1:12.3392s in Tickford Racing’s #6 Monster Energy Mustang, beating James Courtney’s Practice 1 benchmark by almost three tenths.

Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Chaz Mostert finished third at 0.1216s off the pace, ahead of Courtney (#44 Boost Mobile Mustang) and the Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Jamie Whincup.

The latter was quickest after the first runs with a 1:12.5045s in the #88 ZB Commodore before McLaughlin, on new tyres, clocked a 1:12.4512s.

While only 0.0533s separated those two title combatants at the time, Mostert managed to split them when he put in a 1:12.4899s in the #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore.

As was the case in the previous hit-out, the order settled before being shaken up again in the final runs.

Mostert improved to a 1:12.4608s in the last minute, not long after McLaughlin’s final run, before Courtney jumped to third with a 1:12.4772s.

That meant that Whincup, whose first flyer was still his fastest, was shuffled back to fifth, from Lee Holdsworth (#5 Truck Assist Mustang), Nick Percat (#8 R&J Batteries ZB Commodore), and Bryce Fullwood (#2 Mobil 1 Middy’s ZB Commodore).

Shane van Gisbergen (Red Bull HRT) ended up ninth with a best time of 1:12.6694s, following another wild moment when he had to catch a big wiggle in the #97 ZB Commodore through Turn 10 in the early stages.

Mark Winterbottom (#18 Irwin Tools ZB Commodore) rounded out the top 10, while Penrite Racing entries of Anton De Pasquale (#99 ZB Commodore) and David Reynolds (#9 ZB Commodore) were 15th and 17th respectively, with Fabian Coulthard (#12 Shell V-Power Mustang) splitting them.

Qualifying for Race 22 of the season, including a Top 10 Shootout, is scheduled to commence at 12:45 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:12.3392  
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:12.3421 0:00.0029
3 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.4608 0:00.1216
4 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1:12.4772 0:00.1380
5 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.5045 0:00.1653
6 5 Truck Assist Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:12.5074 0:00.1682
7 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.5951 0:00.2559
8 2 Mobil 1 TM Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.6097 0:00.2705
9 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.6694 0:00.3302
10 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7180 0:00.3788
11 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1:12.7387 0:00.3995
12 19 Local Legends Racing Alex Davison Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7584 0:00.4192
13 3 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7916 0:00.4524
14 14 Team Black Duck Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7947 0:00.4555
15 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.8409 0:00.5017
16 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:12.8561 0:00.5169
17 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.8724 0:00.5332
18 35 Yellow Cover Racing Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0049 0:00.6657
19 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Ford Mustang GT 1:13.0768 0:00.7376
20 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1:13.1102 0:00.7710
21 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1176 0:00.7784
22 22 Team SYDNEY Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.3427 0:01.0035
23 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4356 0:01.0964
24 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4831 0:01.1439 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!