Randle leads all the way in MWM one-two at SMP

Thomas Randle leads Jayden Ojeda

Thomas Randle has extended his Dunlop Super2 Series lead with a lights-to-flag win from MW Motorsport team-mate Jayden Ojeda in Race 2 at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Ojeda, Super2’s leading rookie, challenged Randle at the first corner of the 18-lap conclusion to Round 2 of the season but never got close again.

Brodie Kostecki (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) survived late attention from fellow Erebus Motorsport Pirtek Enduro Cup co-driver Will Brown (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore) as they finished third and fourth respectively, and Triple Eight Race Engineering rookie Angelo Mouzouris claimed fifth.

It was Broc Feeney outside of Randle on the front row for the start but the former stalled his #5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon and plummeted to the other end of the 22-car field.

Ojeda (#31 Altima), however, was able to go with the pole-sitting #16 Altima through the first corner from Row 2 on the grid, before filing into second spot out of Bond Bend.

Kostecki had reportedly saved two new tyres for the finale and was clearly keen to make early progress, attempting to round up Mouzouris (#10 VF Commodore) through Brock’s 05.

That did not come off but the Round 1 winner was successful in making an outside move for third position at the second attempt, around Corporate Hill, before Brown got Mouzouris off the Turn 8 Hairpin.

While that released them to go after the MWM pair which headed the field, Randle was already around three seconds up the road from Kostecki and had six tenths on Ojeda at the end of the standing lap.

Those margins only grew as the race wore on, and Randle eventually bagged a second win of the season by 4.4554s.

Ojeda was comfortable in second, while Brown tailed Kostecki for the final five laps but did not seriously threaten.

Behind Mouzouris, Jack Perkins (#54 Eggleston VF Commodore) took sixth, and Zak Best (#78 MWM Altima) seventh.

Feeney got back to eighth and Jaylyn Robotham added to MWM’s honours by again winning the Super3 class in ninth outright in the #28 FG Falcon.

Jordan Boys (#49 Image VF Commodore) was 10th outright, one up on the second of the Super3 runners in Declan Fraser (#777 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon).

The next round of Super2 and Super3, for now, is at Sandown on September 19-20.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Cls Laps Race time
1 16 Skye Sands / MWM Thomas Randle Nissan Altima DS2 18 28:33.3999
2 31 Jayco / MWM Jayden Ojeda Nissan Altima DS2 18 28:37.8553
3 38 Eggleston Motorsport Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 28:41.8763
4 999 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 28:42.2741
5 10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Angelo Mouzouris Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 28:49.6443
6 54 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 28:52.6614
7 78 Best Leisure Industries / MWM Zak Best Nissan Altima DS2 18 28:56.7553
8 5 Boost Mobile Racing Broc Feeney Ford Falcon FG/X DS2 18 28:57.2389
9 28 AusiPack Packaging Jaylyn Robotham Ford Falcon FG S3 18 29:02.7708
10 49 Joss Group Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 29:04.0383
11 777 Anderson Motorsport Declan Fraser Ford Falcon FG S3 18 29:06.8764
12 18 Cavalier Homes Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X DS2 18 29:08.8222
13 7 Anderson Motorsport Tyler Everingham Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 29:10.3100
14 11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 29:10.9025
15 14 Natural Gas and Water / BJR Josh Fife Holden Commodore VF DS2 18 29:14.0952
16 69 Dial Before You Gig/Mac Motors Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG S3 18 29:18.1384
17 8 BJR/Boss Air Suspension Madeline Stewart Holden Commodore VE2 S3 18 29:39.4010
18 3 Morcomm Motorsport Comms Jim Pollicina Holden Commodore VE S3 18 29:42.3227
19 75 B Strong Electrical Brendan Strong Holden Commodore VE S3 18 29:51.1689
20 35 Matt Stone Racing James Gomersall Ford Falcon FG S3 18 29:51.3647
21 219 Masterton Motorsports James Masterton Holden Commodore VE S3 17 29:12.7831
NC 66 Image Racing Jack Sipp Ford Falcon FG S3 3 5:23.9788

Series points: Super2

Pos Driver Pts
1 Thomas Randle 572
2 William Brown 534
3 Brodie Kostecki 499
4 Jayden Ojeda 477
5 Jordan Boys 396
6 Broc Feeney 390
7 Angelo Mouzouris 367
8 Matthew Chahda 353
9 Zak Best 336
10 Josh Fife 248
11 Jack Perkins 236
12 Zane Morse 231
13 Kurt Kostecki 188
14 Tyler Everingham 183

Series points: Super3

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jaylyn Robotham 84
2 Declan Fraser 70
3 Madeline Stewart 54
4 Brendan Strong 51
5 Jim Pollicina 40
6 Jason Gomersall 37
7 Jon McCorkindale 31
8 James Masterton 30
9 Jack Sipp 23
10 Jason Foley 0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]