De Pasquale and van Gisbergen share Eseries pole positions

Shane van Gisbergen

Anton De Pasquale and Shane van Gisbergen have shared the spoils in qualifying for Round 2 of the BP Supercars All Stars Eseries.

The Penrite Racing driver will start the first and fourth race of the night at Silverstone Circuit and Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya from the top spot.

Meanwhile, van Gibsergen of the Red Bull Holden Racing Team will have pole position for Race 3 in Spain.

Race 1 Qualifying, Silverstone

Qualifying for Race 1 of the night saw De Pasquale immediately surge to top spot, but he was soon usurped by Scott McLaughlin on a 2:00.678.

NED Racing driver Andre Heimgartner was quick too. He went fourth fastest initially but was soon demoted by Chaz Mostert who went third fastest and 0.092s adrift of the top time.

Verstappen’s first flying lap put him in seventh and 0.636s away from top spot set by McLaughlin.

After the first flying laps, it was McLaughlin who led De Pasquale, Mostert, Shane van Gisbergen, Andre Heimgartner, Lee Holdsworth, Verstappen, Jack Le Brocq, Will Brown, and Scott Pye.

While McLaughlin went back to the pit lane after his sole flying lap, De Pasquale pushed on and put in a last-lap flier to snag top spot on a 2:00.629, just 0.049s better than McLaughlin.

Much of the field continued on, including Verstappen who managed to get onto the third row with the sixth fastest time on his final flying lap.

At the end, it was De Pasquale who topped the timesheets with McLaughlin second and van Gisbergen third.

Mostert, Heimgartner, Verstappen, Holdsworth, Le Brocq, Jake Kostecki, and Cameron Waters completed the top 10.

Todd Hazelwood, Jamie Whincup, Macauley Jones, and Will Davison all failed to set a time after recording incident points.

Results (Provisional)

Pos Name Lap
1 Anton De Pasquale 02:00.6
2 Scott T McLaughlin 02:00.7
3 Shane van Gisbergen 02:00.7
4 Chaz Mostert2 02:00.8
5 Andre Heimgartner 02:01.1
6 Max Verstappen 02:01.1
7 Lee Holdsworth 02:01.3
8 Jack B Le Brocq 02:01.4
9 Jake Kostecki 02:01.5
10 Cameron Waters 02:01.6
11 Leanne Brown 02:01.6
12 Scott Pye 02:01.6
13 Bryce Fullwood 02:01.8
14 Garry Jacobson 02:01.9
15 Fabian Coulthard 02:01.9
16 Mark Winterbottom 02:02.4
17 Zane Goddard 02:02.6
18 Nick Percat 02:02.6
19 Alex Davison2 02:02.8
20 Rick Kelly 02:02.9
21 Jack Smith12 02:04.4
22 Chris Pither 02:06.2
23 Todd Hazelwood No Time
24 Jamie Whincup No Time
25 Macauley Jones No Time
26 Will Davison No Time

Race 3 Qualifying, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

Qualifying for Race 2 was another 10-minute affair. Initially, it was van Gibsergen who set the pace on a 1:42.055.

Will Brown was the surprise performer with the second quickest time. However, he was soon demoted to third by Penrite Racing team-mate De Pasquale.

Mostert was on the pace again in fourth with McLaughlin 0.420s adrift of the top time.

Bryce Fullwood, Heimgartner, Jacobson, Waters, and Coulthard were the top 10 after the first run. Absent from the top 10 was Verstappen.

McLaughlin bowled a wide on his final flying lap and was pinged for exceeding track limits, which deleted his time.

Some last lap efforts saw several changes at the top end of the tree. Still, it was van Gisbergen who led De Pasquale, but Mostert managed to snag third.

Brown was a strong performer in fourth ahead of McLaughlin while Verstappen surged from the rear of the field to sixth.

Fullwood, Heimgartner, Jacobson, and Waters rounded out the top 10.

Jamie Whincup and Jack Smith both failed to record a lap time.

Results (Provisional)

Pos Name Lap
1 Shane van Gisbergen 01:42.1
2 Anton De Pasquale 01:42.1
3 Chaz Mostert2 01:42.3
4 Leanne Brown 01:42.4
5 Scott T McLaughlin 01:42.5
6 Max Verstappen 01:42.5
7 Bryce Fullwood 01:42.6
8 Andre Heimgartner 01:42.7
9 Garry Jacobson 01:42.8
10 Cameron Waters 01:42.8
11 Fabian Coulthard 01:42.9
12 Nick Percat 01:43.0
13 Will Davison 01:43.1
14 Scott Pye 01:43.2
15 Jack B Le Brocq 01:43.2
16 Jake Kostecki 01:43.3
17 Todd Hazelwood 01:43.4
18 Mark Winterbottom 01:43.8
19 Alex Davison2 01:44.0
20 Lee Holdsworth 01:44.1
21 Macauley Jones 01:44.1
22 Rick Kelly 01:44.2
23 Chris Pither 01:45.1
24 Zane Goddard 01:48.7
25 Jamie Whincup No Time
26 Jack Smith No Time

Race 4 Qualifying, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

De Pasquale was the first to set a time, but he was quickly beaten by van Gibsergen on a 1:42.103. McLaughlin’s first time took him to third place.

Mostert split the top two and went second quickest, just 0.076s away from top spot. Verstappen continued his pace to be fifth fastest.

After the first batch of flying laps, it was van Gisbergen who led Mostert, De Pasquale, McLaughlin, Verstappen, Will Davison, Waters, Pye, Kostecki, and Heimgartner.

The field all headed back to pit lane for a new set of tyres and second run.

De Pasquale’s final flier took him to the top of the timesheets on a 1:41.987. Mostert was another late charger to snag second, just shy of pole position by 0.026s.

The top 10 was completed by van Gisberge, McLaughlin, Verstappen, Will Davison, Waters, Heimgartner, Pye, and Kostecki.

Racing in the BP Supercars All Stars Eseries gets underway at 19:00 AEST.

Results (Provisional)

Pos Driver Lap
1 Anton De Pasquale 01:42.0
2 Chaz Mostert 01:42.0
3 Shane van Gisbergen 01:42.1
4 Scott McLaughlin 01:42.4
5 Max Verstappen 01:42.5
6 Will Davison 01:42.6
7 Cameron Waters 01:42.6
8 Andre Heimgartner 01:42.7
9 Scott Pye 01:42.7
10 Jake Kostecki 01:42.8
11 Fabian Coulthard 01:42.8
12 Garry Jacobson 01:42.9
13 Jack B Le Brocq 01:43.0
14 Zane Goddard 01:43.0
15 Lee Holdsworth 01:43.0
16 Mark Winterbottom 01:43.3
17 Nick Percat 01:43.3
18 Will Brown 01:43.5
19 Todd Hazelwood 01:43.6
20 Macauley Jones 01:43.7
21 Alex Davison 01:43.7
22 Rick Kelly 01:44.1
23 Jack Smith 01:44.6
24 Chris Pither 01:45.3
25 Jamie Whincup No Time
26 Bryce Fullwood No TIme

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]