McLaughlin claims inaugural Supercars Eseries race win

Mat Coch


Wednesday 8th April, 2020 - 7:43pm


The field on approach to Turn 3 on the opening lap

Scott McLaughlin has claimed victory in the opening BP Supercars All Stars Eseries in a nine lap encounter a Phillip Island.

CLICK HERE to watch Round 1 live and free on

McLaughlin headed his DJR Team Penske team-mate Fabian Coulthard while Cameron Waters made it a Ford Mustang one-two-three.

Off the line, Mark Winterbottom fired it off the road as McLaughlin leapt from the second row to seize the lead into the first corner.

Lee Holdsworth found himself at the head of the field after a moment at the opening corner, cutting the Southern Loop and rejoining on the run to Turn 3.

Contact just behind the race leader at Turn 3 saw De Pasquale off the road as Andre Heimgartner rose to second only to run wide at the final corner and cede the spot to Fabian Coulthard at the end of the opening lap.

Rick Kelly found himself upside down on the front straight at the start of Lap 4, spinning the Castrol Mustang on its roof before he reset and returned to the pit lane.

De Pasquale dropped outside of the top 10 after his opening lap incident before climbing his way back, putting a move on Hazelwood midway around Lap 5.

A mistake from the Brad Jones Racing driver saw him crossed up under brakes at MG, firing into the grass on the inside of the corner before rejoining.

Shane van Gisbergen fell to sixth while team-mate Whincup climbed from 24th on the grid to 13th.

McLaughlin’s final margin of victory was more than three seconds from Coulthard, who held off Waters by less than three tenths of a second.

Heimgartner was fourth from Jake Kostecki, van Gisbergen, Nick Percat, De Pasquale, Chaz Mostert, and Garry Jacobson rounding out the 10.

Results: Supercars All Stars Eseries, Race 1 (Unofficial)

Pos Num Driver Team Car Time/Diff
1 17 Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team Ford Mustang
2 12 Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team Ford Mustang +3.389s
3 6 Cameron Waters Monster Energy Racing Ford Mustang +3.622s
4 7 Andre Heimgartner NED Racing Ford Mustang +4.306s
5 33 Jake Kostecki Matt Stone Racing Holden Commodore ZB +5.875s
6 97 Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore ZB +6.027s
7 8 Nick Percat Brad Jones Racing Holden Commodore ZB +8.931s
8 99 Anton De Pasquale Penrite Racing Holden Commodore ZB +9.612s
9 25 Chaz Mostert Mobil 1 Appliances Online Racing Holden Commodore ZB +9.928s
10 35 Garry Jacobson Matt Stone Racing Holden Commodore ZB +11.803s
11 23 Will Davison Milwaukee Racing Ford Mustang +14.398s
12 2 Bryce Fullwood Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Holden Commodore ZB +15.011s
13 3 Macauley Jones Team CoolDrive Holden Commodore ZB +20.983s
14 88 Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore ZB +22.106s
15 34 Zane Goddard Matt Stone Racing Holden Commodore ZB +25.693s
16 19 Alex Davison Team Sydney Holden Commodore ZB +29.754s
17 22 Chris Pither Team Sydney Holden Commodore ZB +33.569s
18 20 Scott Pye Team 18 Holden Commodore ZB +40.633s
19 14 Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing Holden Commodore ZB +43.908s
20 18 Mark Winterbottom Irwin Racing Holden Commodore ZB +1 Laps
21 9 David Reynolds Penrite Racing Holden Commodore ZB +1 Laps
22 5 Lee Holdsworth Truck Assist Racing Ford Mustang +1 Laps
23 4 Jack Smith SCT Logistics Holden Commodore ZB +2 Laps
24 55 Jack Le Brocq Supercheap Auto Racing Ford Mustang +4 Laps
25 15 Rick Kelly Castrol Racing Ford Mustang +6 Laps comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!