Golding sets pace in S5000 practice at Albert Park

Daniel Herrero


Thursday 12th March, 2020 - 11:07am


James Golding

James Golding has gone fastest in practice for Round 1 of the VHT Australian S5000 Championship at Albert Park.

Golding’s best was a 1:51.1937s in the #31 Garry Rogers Motorsport entry which left him 0.0072s clear of Thomas Randle (Team BRM) and another 0.1774s up on James Davison (BRM).

The 20-minute session started on a very dirty track with lap times initially beyond two minutes, but dropping into the 1:54s for the second flyers, when Golding moved to the top.

Rubens Barrichello (BRM) moved the benchmark to the 1:53s bracket next time around, before Randle took up top spot with a 1:52.1358s on his fourth timed lap.

He remained at the head of the field with a 1:51.9010s on his fifth lap, as the gains in lap speed started to taper off.

Davison, Randle, and then Davison again moved the benchmark down to 1:51.3783s before Golding set what would be the very best time of the session in the 17th minute.

Randle subsequently moved to a 1:51.2009s, pushing Davison back to third.

Zane Goddard (BRM), who is not on Virgin Australia Supercars Championship duties this weekend, ended up fourth at 1:51.6765s, from Williams Formula 1 reserve Jack Aitken (BRM) and Tim Macrow (Tim Macrow Racing), the latter of whom was first outside the 1:51s.

Barrichello finished seventh, from Luis Leeds (GRM), Alexandre Premat (GRM), and Giancarlo Fisichella (GRM).

Fisichella was hamstrung by front wing damage to Car #38, which became apparent after an off at Turn 9/Turn 10 in the early stages but may have then contributed to another at the same complex in the final minute of the session.

Golding also had an off-track excursion at one point, while Antonio Astuti stopped on track with the chequered flag out and puffs of smoke coming from the back of the #39 Tim Macrow Racing entry.

Qualifying takes place at 15:10 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Fastest lap Split
1 31 Valvoline Racing GRM James Golding 1:51.1937
2 49 Team BRM Thomas Randle 1:51.2009 0:00.0072
3 33 Team BRM James Davison 1:51.3783 0:00.1846
4 93 Team BRM Zane Goddard 1:51.6765 0:00.4828
5 16 Team BRM Jack Aitken 1:51.7493 0:00.5556
6 23 UCS/Holinger Timothy Macrow 1:52.0461 0:00.8524
7 111 PAYCE Rubens Barrichello 1:52.1568 0:00.9631
8 99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Luis Leeds 1:52.2310 0:01.0373
9 34 Garry Rogers Motorsport Alexandre Premat 1:52.2314 0:01.0377
10 38 Garry Rogers Motorsport Giancarlo Fisichella 1:52.5617 0:01.3680
11 39 Tim Macrow Racing Antonio Astuti 1:53.1728 0:01.9791
12 92 Modena Engineering Ricky Capo 1:54.0355 0:02.8418
13 27 Milldun Motorsport Barton Mawer 1:54.9246 0:03.7309
14 88 ACM Finance Jordan Michels 1:55.9940 0:04.8003
15 89 Willmington Racing Braydan Willmington 1:59.6392 0:08.4455 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!