Reynolds pips van Gisbergen, Davison in opening practice

David Reynolds

David Reynolds has ended up fastest in Practice 1 for the Superloop Adelaide 500 in a session in which the top three was covered by 0.0147s.

Reynolds was at the head of the timing screen when the session was called with around two minutes remaining for an awkward collision between Lee Holdsworth and Garry Jacobson which damaged the former’s #5 Truck Assist Mustang in particular.

Contact between Lee Holdsworth and Garry Jacobson pic: Fox Sports

Jacobson had been moving slowly away from Senna Chicane when Holdsworth arrived at speed and had not the room to squeeze between the #35 ZB Commodore and the wall on driver’s right.

The wheel-to-wheel contact broke the left-front of Holdsworth’s Tickford Racing car, which came to rest just beyond the track limits at Turn 4 with Jacobson’s YellowCover car parked behind.

Shane van Gisbergen ended up second in the #97 Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore and Will Davison third in the #23 Milwaukee Mustang.

Reynolds set the pace through the first runs with a 1:20.6864s in the #9 Penrite Racing ZB Commodore.

That left him 0.1412s ahead of new Walkinshaw Andretti United signing Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online ZB Commodore), who was first into the 1:20s, at the time.

Van Gisbergen, who was soon sighted barely touching the wall with the outside mirror at the Turn 8 Sweeper, took up second position on his second run at just 0.0098s behind Reynolds, while Davison crept back up to third at 0.0397s back from #9.

It was an even more eventful third run for van Gisbergen, who had an adventure up the run-off area when he locked the rears at Wakefield Road then a sizeable drifting moment through Turn 9, either side of a lap on which he nearly improved his time.

Davison did find more time on his third run, albeit only another 0.0250s, which saw the 23Red Racing driver remain third, from Mostert and Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy Mustang), while Fabian Coulthard (#12 Shell V-Power Mustang) jumped to sixth on the half-hour mark.

Scott McLaughlin (#17 Mustang) was the last major mover, going back ahead of team-mate Coulthard and into sixth position late in the piece with a 1:20.9710s, while Nick Percat (#8 X-Convenience ZB Commodore) was first of those in the 1:21s in eighth position.

Jamie Whincup (#88 Triple Eight ZB Commodore) and Anton De Pasquale (#99 Erebus ZB Commodore) rounded out the top 10.

Reynolds said, “My car was pretty good straight out of the gate.

“At the test day on Tuesday (at The Bend) I was like 16th or something and that was my genuine pace so I was looking for ways to sort of make all these excuses, but I was genuinely slow.

“Then, different track, different day and my car was amazing. Straight out of the gate, had a ball.”

Rick Kelly finished 11th with a marked #15 Castrol Mustang after a not insignificant bump of the Turn 8 wall, while James Courtney only completed nine laps before a bent lower control arm forced the #19 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore into the garage.

Holdsworth was 12th, Jacobson 18th, and Courtney 22nd, the latter one spot behind Team Sydney team-mate Chris Pither (#22 Coca-Cola ZB Commodore).

Practice 2 for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship field, which determines the starting order for Saturday’s knockout qualifying, takes place tomorrow from 14:05 local time/14:35 AEDT.

Results: Practice 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6864
2 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.6962 0:00.0098
3 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:20.7011 0:00.0147
4 25 Mobil 1 TM Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1:20.8276 0:00.1412
5 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:20.9703 0:00.2839
6 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:20.9710 0:00.2846
7 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:20.9994 0:00.3130
8 8 X Convenience Mobil Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0494 0:00.3630
9 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0499 0:00.3635
10 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.0529 0:00.3665
11 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Ford Mustang GT 1:21.1459 0:00.4595
12 5 Truck Assist Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:21.1782 0:00.4918
13 2 Mobil 1 TM Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.2210 0:00.5346
14 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.2576 0:00.5712
15 7 NED Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT 1:21.3193 0:00.6329
16 14 Plus Fitness Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.3761 0:00.6897
17 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.3914 0:00.7050
18 35 Yellow Cover Racing Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.7275 0:01.0411
19 3 Team Cooldrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:21.8390 0:01.1526
20 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT 1:21.9537 0:01.2673
21 22 Team SYDNEY Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1:22.1373 0:01.4509
22 19 Team SYDNEY James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:22.2600 0:01.5736
23 34 UNIT Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB 1:22.2857 0:01.5993
24 4 SCT Motor Sports Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1:22.4401 0:01.7537

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]