W Series Super License points allocation confirmed

Mat Coch


Friday 31st January, 2020 - 8:29am


W Series competitors will be eligible for FIA Super License points for 2020

FIA Super License points will be awarded to the first eight finishers in the 2020 W Series championship.

The series winner will receive 15 points, with a sliding scale falling to a single point for eighth place at the end of the eight-round competition.

“We’re delighted that the FIA has made the decision to award Super Licence points to W Series’ most successful drivers from the 2020 season onwards, thereby adding to the importance of W Series as a ‘feeder’ series for female drivers who aspire to race in more senior championships,” said W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir.

“Indeed, now that the first eight in the W Series championship will accrue Super Licence points, W Series has become an even more important rung on the motorsport ladder for female drivers whose ambition is to race and one day beat male drivers in the FIA Formula 3 Championship, which is logically the next rung on the ladder for them, and beyond.”

To be eligible for Formula 1 drivers must accrue 40 super license points across a three-year period.

The 2020 W Series kicks off in Russia in May, while the back end of the year will see the final two events join Formula 1 at the United States and Mexican Grands Prix.

W Series 2020 Super License Points

Pos Points
1 15
2 12
3 10
4 7
5 5
6 3
7 2
8 1 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!