Van Gisbergen beats De Pasquale with a ‘three’ in Practice 4

The #888 Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG

Shane van Gisbergen has edged Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG team-mate Anton De Pasquale in Practice 4 with the only ‘three’ of the opening day of the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour weekend.

Van Gisbergen in the Pro #888 car and De Pasquale in the Pro-Am #777 car waged a duel of sorts in the final 10 minutes of the hour-long session, with the former dropping down to a 2:03.9694s and the latter achieving a best lap of 2:04.1684s.

Kelvin van der Linde and Christopher Mies put Valvoline Audis third and fourth respectively, while Raffaele Marciello’s 2:04.9404s in the first half-hour stood up for fifth position.

Jamie Whincup had put #888 on top just prior to a red flag 10 minutes into the session, before Maximilian Gotz had a spell in the car and put in a 2:05.7903s.

Van Gisbergen finished the session in Triple Eight’s factory-supported Mercedes-AMG and initially put it back into the lead with a 2:04.8885s just inside the final 15 minutes.

Mies just beat that with a 2:04.8091s a few minutes later before De Pasquale set the fastest lap of the event to that point with a 2:04.4518s with just over five minutes to go.

His next lap was even better at 2:04.3668s, before van Gisbergen closed to just 0.0213s off the pace.

De Pasquale followed up with a new fastest first sector but the Kiwi put the whole lap together in setting the 2:03.9694s.

On his final lap, De Pasquale went even quicker again to the first timing point and while he improved his personal best at the chequered flag, he still fell a couple of tenths short of van Gisbergen.

As all of that was going on, van der Linde clocked a 2:04.4776s in the #222 Audi, which knocked Mies’ 2:04.8091s in the #22 Audi back to fourth.

Marciello had the fastest lap for around a quarter of an hour before van Gisbergen turned up the wick, with Maximilian Buhk and Felipe Fraga both getting miles in the #999 Mercedes-AMG that was fifth fastest all told.

The #4 Grove Porsche ended up sixth courtesy of Ben Barker’s opening runs.

The Brit was quick before the first red flag and immediately usurped Whincup for first position when the session resumed with a 2:05.7664s, but his best was a 2:05.0264s a couple of laps after that.

Rounding out the top 10 were the #2 Valvoline Audi thanks to Dries Vanthoor’s 2:05.0394s on his final run, the #63 Orange1 FFF Lamborghini, the #77 Craft-Bamboo Black Falcon Mercedes-AMG, and the #1 Earl Bamber Motorsport Porsche.

Neither of the Bentley Team M-Sport entries made it onto the race track due to distinct mechanical problems for the two Continental GT3s.

There was one stoppage in the session due to Sergei Afanasiev hitting the wall in the #46 Black Falcon Mercedes-AMG.

The fifth and final practice session will be held tomorrow from 08:45 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 4

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 888 Mercedes-AMG Team Triple Eight S.van Gisbergen/J.Whincup/M.Goetz Mercedes AMG GT3 PRO 2:03.9649
2 777 The Bend Motorsport Park A.De Pasquale/S.Shahin Mercedes AMG GT3 PAM 2:04.1684 0:00.2035
3 222 Audi Sport Team Valvoline K.van der Linde/M.Drudi/M.Winkelhock Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PRO 2:04.4776 0:00.5127
4 22 Audi Sport Team Valvoline C.Mies/M.Bortolotti Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PRO 2:04.8091 0:00.8442
5 999 Mercedes-AMG GruppeM Racing F.Fraga/M.Buhk/R.Marciello Mercedes AMG GT3 PRO 2:04.9404 0:00.9755
6 4 Team Australia Grove Racing S.Grove/B.Barker Porsche GT3 R PAM 2:05.0264 0:01.0615
7 2 Audi Sport Team Valvoline D.Vanthoor/F.Vervisch Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PRO 2:05.0394 0:01.0745
8 63 Orange 1 FFF Racing Team A.Caldarelli/M.Mapelli/D.Lind Lamborghini Huracan PRO 2:05.0737 0:01.1088
9 77 Mercedes-AMG Craft-Bamboo L.Stolz/Y.Buurman Mercedes AMG GT3 PRO 2:05.3216 0:01.3567
10 1 Earl Bamber Motorsport L.Vanthoor/C.Lowndes Porsche GT3 R PRO 2:05.4330 0:01.4681
11 76 R – Motorsport J.Dennis/R.Kelly/S.Dixon Aston Martin Vantage PRO 2:05.5601 0:01.5952
12 27 Hub Auto Corsa M.Gomes/D.Serra Ferrari 488 GT3 PRO 2:05.5747 0:01.6098
13 30 Honda Racing Team JAS D.Cameron/R.van der Zande/M.Farnbacher Acura/ Honda NSX GT3 PRO 2:05.6290 0:01.6641
14 9 Hallmarc M.Cini/L.Holdsworth Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PAM 2:05.7606 0:01.7957
15 912 Absolute Racing D.Werner/M.Cairoli/T.Preining Porsche GT3 R PRO 2:05.7713 0:01.8064
16 18 KCMG Edoardo Liberati Nissan GTR Nismo GT PRO 2:05.9436 0:01.9787
17 911 Absolute Racing M.Jaminet/P.Pilet/M.Campbell Porsche GT3 R PRO 2:06.0299 0:02.0650
18 6 Wall Racing A.Deitz/C.McConville Lamborghini Huracan SIL 2:06.0336 0:02.0687
19 75 SunEnergy1 Racing K.Habul/D.Baumann Mercedes AMG GT3 PAM 2:06.0643 0:02.0994
20 91 Scandia Racer Industries A.Cameron/N.Percat MARC II INV 2:06.4094 0:02.4445
21 34 Walkenhorst Motorsport N.Catsburg/C.Mostert BMW M6 GT3 PRO 2:06.5313 0:02.5664
22 159 Garage 59 A.Watson/O.Hart/R.De Angelis Aston Martin Vantage SIL 2:06.7143 0:02.7494
23 59 59Racing D.Storey/F.Ross/M.Kodric McLaren 720S GT3 SIL 2:06.7730 0:02.8081
24 12 NED Racing Team D.Calvert-Jones/J.Evans Porsche GT3 R PAM 2:06.8639 0:02.8990
25 188 Garage 59 C.Goodwin/C.Ledogar Aston Martin Vantage PAM 2:07.6203 0:03.6554
26 92 Scandia Racer Industries T.Everingham/J.Kaye MARC II INV 2:08.3677 0:04.4028
27 62 R – Motorsport L.Ghiotto/O.Caldwell Aston Martin Vantage PRO 2:08.5297 0:04.5648
28 46 Black Falcon Sergei Afanasiev Mercedes AMG GT3 SIL 2:08.9544 0:04.9895
29 95 MARC Cars Australia B.Hall/W.Luff/B.Schumacher MARC II INV 2:09.0048 0:05.0399
30 24 Bostik Australia T.Bates/G.Emery/M.Twigg Audi R8 – LMS GT3 SIL 2:09.0226 0:05.0577
31 29 Trofeo Motorsport M.Zalloua/G.Denyer Lamborghini Huracan SIL 2:10.7244 0:06.7595
32 96 Hobson Motorsport Brett Hobson Nissan GT-R NISMO GT SIL 2:13.1283 0:09.1634
33 19 D.Muller/H.Newey Mercedes AMG GT4 GT4 2:16.6084 0:12.6435
34 13 JET Battery Services D.Jorgensen/D.van Dongen BMW M4 GT4 GT4 2:19.6386 0:15.6737
20 Local Search Cedric Sbirrazzuoli MARC II INV

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]