Reynolds put Mercedes-AMG on top in Practice 3 at Bathurst

The #75 SunEnergy1 Mercedes-AMG

David Reynolds has gone fastest in Practice 3 for the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour with the only ‘four’ of the session in an older-specification Mercedes-AMG GT3.

The SunEnergy1 entry which Reynolds piloted was one of four Mercs in the top five at the end of the 60-minute session after Shane van Gisbergen jumped 11 positions from 16th with the chequered flag out in the #888 Triple Eight Race Engineering entry.

Luca Stolz and Maro Engel were both quick in the rebuilt #77 Craft-Bamboo Black Falcon Mercedes-AMG, with the former setting a 2:05.1670s which had him within a quarter of a second of Reynolds’ 2:04.9312s all told.

Joao-Paulo de Oliveira was the odd man out with a third-best 2:05.2972s in the #18 KCMG Nissan, while Felipe Fraga earned fourth position in the #999 GruppeM Mercedes-AMG.

Christopher Haase was quickest early on with a 2:09.1204s on his first flyer in the #2 Valvoline Audi and a 2:06.2662s on his second.

Earl Bamber took over top spot in the 11th minute when he rolled out a 2:06.2633s in the #1 Earl Bamber Motorsport Porsche, before Dirk Werner took another Porsche in the form of the #912 Absolute Racing entry to third at just 0.1497s slower.

Engel had hit the wall due to a right-rear suspension failure in Car #77 in the preceding session but the German was immediately on the pace when he finally entered the track in Practice 3.

He jumped to the lead with a 2:05.3388s on Craft-Bamboo Black Falcon’s first lap of the session, almost a quarter of an hour in, and backed that up with a 2:05.6133s a handful of laps later.

There had been much other movement at the top of the timing screen between those two efforts, with Nick Foster (#777 Triple Eight Mercedes-AMG) clocking a 2:05.9630s, Matt Campbell (#911 Absolute Racing Porsche) a 2:05.7764s, and Werner a 2:05.8768s.

De Oliveira also snuck in a 2:05.2972s which put the sole running KCMG Nissan into first position, from the #77 Mercedes-AMG, the #911 and #912 Porsches, and the #777 Mercedes-AMG as the session moved from the first half-hour into the second.

The top end of town tightened further when Bamber laid down a 2:05.7588s to go third, then Fraga pipped him with a 2:05.4443s in the GruppeM Mercedes-AMG in the 38th minute.

Stolz established a new benchmark when he wheeled the #77 Mercedes-AMG to a 2:05.1670s in the 40th minute, before Reynolds clocked the session-best 2:04.9312s in the 49th minute.

Jamie Whincup and van Gisbergen shared the running in the #888 Mercedes-AMG, which drifted from the back end of the top 10 to the mid-teens until van Gisbergen put in the 2:05.5137s at the very end.

Their Triple Eight Supercars stablemate Craig Lowndes ended the session in the #1 EBM Porsche but it was Bamber’s effort just after the halfway mark which left it sixth on the timesheet.

Rounding out the top 10 in an uninterrupted session was the #911 Porsche, the #22 Valvoline Audi due to a late lap from Mirko Bortolotti, the #912 Porsche, and the #2 Audi.

Practice 4, another hour-long session, is scheduled for 15:05 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Cls Fastest lap Split
1 75 SunEnergy1 Racing K.Habul/M.Konrad/D.Reynolds Mercedes AMG GT3 PAM 2:04.9312
2 77 Mercedes-AMG Craft-Bamboo M.Engel/L.Stolz/Y.Buurman Mercedes AMG GT3 PRO 2:05.1670 0:00.2358
3 18 KCMG J.De Oliveira/A.Imperatori Nissan GTR Nismo GT PRO 2:05.2972 0:00.3660
4 999 Mercedes-AMG GruppeM Racing F.Fraga/M.Buhk/R.Marciello Mercedes AMG GT3 PRO 2:05.4443 0:00.5131
5 888 Mercedes-AMG Team Triple Eight S.van Gisbergen/J.Whincup Mercedes AMG GT3 PRO 2:05.5137 0:00.5825
6 1 Earl Bamber Motorsport E.Bamber/C.Lowndes Porsche GT3 R PRO 2:05.7588 0:00.8276
7 911 Absolute Racing M.Jaminet/P.Pilet/M.Campbell Porsche GT3 R PRO 2:05.7764 0:00.8452
8 22 Audi Sport Team Valvoline G.Tander/M.Bortolotti Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PRO 2:05.8558 0:00.9246
9 912 Absolute Racing D.Werner/M.Cairoli/T.Preining Porsche GT3 R PRO 2:05.8768 0:00.9456
10 2 Audi Sport Team Valvoline C.Haase/F.Vervisch Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PRO 2:05.8899 0:00.9587
11 27 Hub Auto Corsa T.Slade/D.Serra Ferrari 488 GT3 PRO 2:05.9101 0:00.9789
12 777 The Bend Motorsport Park Y.Shahin/N.Foster/A.De Pasquale Mercedes AMG GT3 PAM 2:05.9630 0:01.0318
13 46 Black Falcon P.Assenheimer/S.Afanasiev/M.Beretta Mercedes AMG GT3 SIL 2:06.0647 0:01.1335
14 7 Bentley Team M-Sport Jules Gounon Bentley Continental PRO 2:06.1753 0:01.2441
15 12 NED Racing Team D.Calvert-Jones/R.Dumas Porsche GT3 R PAM 2:06.1785 0:01.2473
16 222 Audi Sport Team Valvoline M.Drudi/M.Winkelhock Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PRO 2:06.3312 0:01.4000
17 63 Orange 1 FFF Racing Team A.Caldarelli/D.Lind Lamborghini Huracan PRO 2:06.5502 0:01.6190
18 8 Bentley Team M-Sport Alex Buncombe Bentley Continental PRO 2:06.7135 0:01.7823
19 59 59Racing D.Storey/F.Ross McLaren 720S GT3 SIL 2:06.8522 0:01.9210
20 60 59Racing/ EMA Racing A.Parente/T.Blomqvist McLaren 720S GT3 PRO 2:07.1790 0:02.2478
21 30 Honda Racing Team JAS D.Cameron/R.van der Zande/M.Farnbacher Acura/ Honda NSX GT3 PRO 2:07.3236 0:02.3924
22 34 Walkenhorst Motorsport A.Farfus/C.Mostert BMW M6 GT3 PRO 2:07.3557 0:02.4245
23 4 Team Australia Grove Racing Stephen Grove Porsche GT3 R PAM 2:07.3599 0:02.4287
24 9 Hallmarc M.Cini/D.Fiore Audi R8 – LMS GT3 PAM 2:07.7590 0:02.8278
25 29 Trofeo Motorsport L.Talbot/M.Zalloua Lamborghini Huracan SIL 2:07.7736 0:02.8424
26 76 R – Motorsport J.Dennis/R.Kelly/S.Dixon Aston Martin Vantage PRO 2:07.9174 0:02.9862
27 188 Garage 59 A.West/M.Martin Aston Martin Vantage PAM 2:08.2901 0:03.3589
28 20 Local Search A.Hargraves/D.Jilesen/S.Owen MARC II INV 2:08.5237 0:03.5925
29 91 Scandia Racer Industries A.Cameron/B.Feeney MARC II INV 2:08.5454 0:03.6142
30 62 R – Motorsport L.Ghiotto/O.Caldwell Aston Martin Vantage PRO 2:08.7662 0:03.8350
31 6 Wall Racing A.Deitz/J.Westwood Lamborghini Huracan SIL 2:08.9067 0:03.9755
32 159 Garage 59 A.Watson/O.Hart/R.De Angelis Aston Martin Vantage SIL 2:08.9970 0:04.0658
33 95 MARC Cars Australia G.Taunton/B.Hall/B.Schumacher MARC II INV 2:10.5810 0:05.6498
34 24 Bostik Australia T.Bates/G.Emery/M.Twigg Audi R8 – LMS GT3 SIL 2:10.9413 0:06.0101
35 92 Scandia Racer Industries H.Morrall/J.Kaye MARC II INV 2:11.2913 0:06.3601
36 96 Hobson Motorsport K.Kostecki/G.Walden Nissan GT-R NISMO GT SIL 2:11.7069 0:06.7757
37 13 JET Battery Services D.Jorgensen/B.Strom BMW M4 GT4 GT4 2:18.3848 0:13.4536
38 19 M.Griffith/H.Newey Mercedes AMG GT4 GT4 2:20.8805 0:15.9493

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]