Teams reject 2020 F1 tyres with unanimous vote

Teams have voted to keep the 2019 tyres for next season

Formula 1 will run on the same tyres as it used this year after teams unanimously voted to reject the 2020 specification rubber developed by Pirelli.

A statement released by the FIA cited three reasons for the decision, focusing primarily on the different tyre profile and impact on new car design.

It follows a number of track tests, which began back at the Austrian Grand Prix and continued at the post-season test in Abu Dhabi last week.

Meeting with negative feedback from drivers, the unanimous vote will see the sport run on the same tyre specification next year as it used throughout 2019.

“Having analysed all the results and team assessments from the recent test in Abu Dhabi, a vote for the specification of the tyres for the 2020 season was carried out according to Article 12.6.1 of the technical regulations,” the FIA statement read.

“The vote resulted in a unanimous decision to keep the 2019 specification tyres for the 2020 season by the Formula 1 teams.

“Together Pirelli, the FIA and the F1 teams have taken into account several different factors in reaching this decision:

“The teams will no longer have to modify the designs of their 2020 cars, which would otherwise have been necessary to accommodate the different profile of the 2020 tyre construction.

“This will now allow the teams to continue the development of their 2020 cars – which are already at an advanced stage – uninterrupted.

“The use of the 2019 tyres also guarantees the teams stability, with the advantage of using a well-known product during the final season of the current regulations.”

While the sport has refused to move to the new rubber, work is ongoing to develop lower profile tyres for the 18-inch wheels set to be introduced for 2021.

Mercedes worked alongside Pirelli at Yas Marina this week, turning in two days worth of running with George Russell as work continued on the new tyre.

The 2020 Formula 1 season is set to begin at the Australian Grand Prix on March 12-15.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]