Mark Webber inducted into FIA Hall of Fame

Mat Coch


Tuesday 3rd December, 2019 - 8:53am


Mark Webber was among 29 drivers inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame

Mark Webber has been inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame during a ceremony at the organisation’s Paris headquarters.

Webber was one of 29 inductees as the sport recognised the winners of the World Endurance Championship since 1981.

Following his retirement from Formula 1 at the end of 2013, Webber joined the Porsche factory team as it returned to the World Endurance Championship.

There he helped develop the Porsche 919 Hybrid, racing it for three seasons from 2014 to 2016.

The Australian helped deliver the German marque the championship in 2015, alongside co-drivers Brendon Hartley, and Timo Bernhard.

Fellow Porsche racer, and Shane van Gisbergen’s 2018 Pirtek Enduro Cup co-driver , Earl Bamber was also inducted for his WEC winning 2017 campaign.

Other notable inductees included racer turned commentator Martin Brundle, who won the title with Jaguar in 1988, and Fernando Alonso for his 2018-19 crown.

Alonso’s inclusion makes him the only driver to have been inducted twice, the Spaniard already a member courtesy of his back-to-back Formula 1 titles in 2005 and 2006.

This year’s Hall of Fame followed on from the inaugural event in 2017 which saw all 33 Formula 1 world champions inducted, and the 17 World Rally Champions earlier this year, with galleries at the FIA’s Paris and Geneva headquarters celebrating each driver.

FIA Hall of Fame inductees

  • Bob Garretson (1981)
  • Jacky Ickx (1982, 1983)
  • Stefan Bellof (1984)
  • Derek Bell (1985, 1986)
  • Hans-Joachim Stuck (1985)
  • Raul Boesel (1987)
  • Martin Brundle (1988)
  • Jean-Louis Schlesser (1989, 1990)
  • Mauro Baldi (1990)
  • Teo Fabi (1991)
  • Yannick Dalmas (1992)
  • Derek Warwick (1992)
  • André Lotterer (2012)
  • Marcel Fässler (2012)
  • Benôit Tréluyer (2012)
  • Allan McNish (2013)
  • Loïc Duval (2013)
  • Tom Kristensen (2013)
  • Anthony Davidson (2014)
  • Sébastien Buemi (2014, 2018-19)
  • Brendon Hartley (2015, 2017)
  • Mark Webber (2015)
  • Timo Bernhard (2015, 2017)
  • Marc Lieb (2016)
  • Neel Jani (2016)
  • Roman Dumas (2016)
  • Earl Bamber (2017)
  • Kazuki Nakajima (2018-19)
  • Fernando Alonso (2018-19) comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!