Five round LMP3 Cup Australia calendar unveiled

Mat Coch


Friday 29th November, 2019 - 9:52am


LMP3 Cup Australia will feature five events in 2020

Organisers of the LMP3 Cup Australia have revealed a five round calendar for its inaugural season next year.

The series will see events split between New South Wales and Victoria, starting at the Motorsport Australia Championships at Sydney Motorsport Park in March.

It will then head to Winton and Phillip Island before returning to SMP for the first weekend in September, and rounding the year out at Sandown the following week.

The tempo of the schedule has been deliberately paced such that competitors from Asia are able to compete in the Australian series, while avoiding the 24 Hours of Le Mans weekend (June 13-14).

The bulk of the calendar will be held as part of the Motorsport Australia Championships, with the penultimate round the only exception.

That will take place over the Sydney Master Blast event, with a twilight race on the cards for that weekend.

“We’re really looking forward to bringing top-level Sports-Prototype racing back to Australia,” said Tony Manson, category manager LMP3 Cup Australia.

“LMP3 cars with their Nissan V8s really suit the Australian taste for V8-engined racing and at the same time, with their purpose-built, pure racecar design provide the spectacle of fast but close Sports-Prototype racing that we have missed in Australia for quite some time now.

“We have strong interest from Australian teams, have already received entries from overseas teams and our weekend schedule, providing hour-long, two-driver races fits the ethos of Sports-Prototype racing and gives more drivers the opportunity to be part of the series and potentially carve themselves out a Sports-Prototype career both here in Australia and Overseas.”

While the domestic competition doesn’t begin until March, the Asian Le Mans Series will feature LMP3 machinery at The Bend in early January.

2020 LMP3 Cup Australia calendar

Round 1: March 27-29 – Sydney Motorsport Park
Round 2: May 1-3 – Winton Raceway
Round 3: August 21-23 – Phillip Island
Round 4: September 4-6 – Sydney Motorsport Park
Round 5: September 11-13 – Sandown Park Raceway comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!