Waters takes provisional pole, SVG misses Shootout

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters has qualified on provisional pole for the 2019 Supercars Championship finale in Newcastle while Shane van Gisbergen missed the Armor All Top 10 Shootout.

Waters set the fastest lap of the weekend so far, a 1:10.1095s, on roaded tyres and the #6 Monster Energy Mustang will be last out for the one-lap dashes later today.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Jamie Whincup and both Shell V-Power Racing Team entries made the top 10 in a session run in overcast conditions, but van Gisbergen qualified only 18th after a late error.

Lee Holdsworth was quickest on the first runs with a 1:10.5545s in the #5 The Bottle-O Mustang, from Fabian Coulthard (#12 Shell V-Power Mustang), Whincup (#88 ZB Commodore), and Anton De Pasquale (#99 Penrite ZB Commodore).


Waters then wheeled the #6 Tickford Racing entry to a 1:10.1095s and, ahead of the final runs, he held sway from Scott McLaughlin (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang), Whincup, and Tim Slade (#14 Freightliner ZB Commodore).

Chaz Mostert (#55 Supercheap Auto Mustang) was 10th at that point in time and van Gisbergen (#97 Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore) 16th.

Nick Percat had a run-in with Will Davison at Turn 11 having gone early for his last run and caught the #23 Milwaukee Mustang.

The Brad Jones Racing driver locked up at the Hairpin and backed into the wall when he tried to quickly flick the #8 Timken ZB Commodore back around, while Davison is under investigation for the incident.

In the end, none could topple Waters, but Whincup did swap places with McLaughlin when he moved to second with a 1:10.1281s with the chequered flag out.

“I did that time on a roaded tyre, so I think there’s a little bit in that because I couldn’t go quicker on the greens,” said Waters.

“It’s probably the best the car’s felt, so for me I wouldn’t say the track’s much different, I’d just say we’ve done a better job with the car.”

McLaughlin was third all told with a 1:10.1484s on his final flyer, ahead of Coulthard, Slade, De Pasquale, James Courtney (#22 Mobil 1 ZB Commodore), David Reynolds (#9 Penrite ZB Commodore), and Scott Pye (#2 Mobil 1 ZB Commodore).

Holdsworth will be first car out for the Top 10 Shootout after Mostert improved his lap time but not his position right at the end.

Mostert came up 0.0005s slower than his Tickford team-mate and is therefore locked into 11th.

Van Gisbergen was seen backing away from the run-off area at Turn 9 in the final two minutes of the session and he pitted before the chequered flag came out, meaning the previous day’s race winner is only 18th on the grid today.

The final Armor All Top 10 Shootout of 2019 is scheduled for 1320 local time/AEDT at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500.

Results: Armor All Qualifying for Race 32

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:10.110
2 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.128 0.0186
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:10.148 0.0389
4 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:10.313 0.2033
5 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.411 0.3012
6 99 Penrite Racing Anton de Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.431 0.3213
7 22 Mobil 1 Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.450 0.3408
8 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.452 0.3427
9 2 Mobil 1 Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.536 0.4267
10 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:10.555 0.445
11 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 1:10.555 0.4455
12 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:10.610 0.5003
13 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.613 0.5032
14 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:10.632 0.5229
15 8 Timken Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.673 0.5636
16 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.737 0.6276
17 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:10.742 0.6329
18 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.763 0.6531
19 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.765 0.655
20 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.775 0.6657
21 33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.928 0.8187
22 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:10.942 0.8325
23 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:10.999 0.8891
24 3 RABBLE.club Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:11.216 1.1067

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]