Crick wins SuperUtes finale in Newcastle

Cameron Crick

Cameron Crick inherited victory in the final SuperUtes race of the season at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 after a penalty for Ryal Harris.

It was a depleted field that started Race 3 after a sizeable crash earlier in the day and Tom Alexander (Isuzu D-Max), who had taken an unassailable series lead in Race 2, led up Watt Street for the first time of asking.’

Alexander had to defend from Crick early on before the Mitsubishi Triton driver came under attack from Harris (Mazda BT-50), who swept around the outside at Turn 10 on the opening lap to claim second.

Harris closed up on Alexander and put his nose down the inside at Turn 9 on Lap 4, as the pair made contact which sent Alexander spinning.

Alexander dropped to fourth on the road as a result of the incident, while Harris copped a 15-second time penalty but took over the nominal lead.

Harris took the chequered flag first at the end of the 11-lap race but was relegated to fourth due to the penalty, with Crick inheriting the victory.

Alexander, the 2019 series winner, got one spot back from Craig Woods to officially claim second, with Woods classified third in his Toyota Hilux.

The round was the last for the turbo diesel platform, with SuperUtes teams planning a switch to V8s next year.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 11 16:40.9476
2 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 11 16:47.5034
3 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 11 16:47.9920
4 1 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 11 16:53.4081
5 49 Allgate Auto Doors Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 11 17:13.0005
DNF 68 Phoenix Contract Layton Barker Toyota Hilux 3 5:03.9597

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Tom Alexander 1203
2 Cameron Crick 1136
3 Ryal Harris 1053
4 Ben Walsh 985
5 Craig Woods 781
6 Christopher Formosa 730
7 Toby Price 575
8 Craig Thompson 552
9 Benjamin Falk 545
10 Elliot Barbour 336
11 Jaiden Maggs 248
12 Michael Sieders 245
13 Gerard Maggs 231
14 Jeff Watters 229
15 Nathan Pretty 163
16 Joshua Anderson 141
17 Keven Stoopman 127
18 Madison Dunston 123
19 Luke van Herwaarde 99
20 Adam Dodd 64
21 Ronnie Conquest 52
22 Peter Major 48
23 Craig Dontas 19
24 Dean Canto 0
25 Gilbert Slade 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]