Randle claims pole for Super2 Race 1 in Newcastle

Thomas Randle

Thomas Randle has taken Armor All Pole Position for Dunlop Super2 Series Race 1 in Newcastle with an impressive lap time.

The Tickford Racing driver laid down a 1:11.4644s in the #5 FGX Falcon, the fastest Super2 lap on the Newcastle East Street Circuit since the first visit in 2017.

He will share the front row with provisional series winner Bryce Fullwood of MW Motorsport, while Row 2 will be the most recent race and round winners in Jordan Boys and Jack Perkins respectively.

Boys (#49 Image Racing VF Commodore) was on top after the first runs with a 1:11.7070s, Fullwood (#16 Altima) was second at 0.0576s slower, Will Brown (#38 VF Commodore) sat third, and his team-mate Perkins (#54 VF Commodore) was fourth.

Boys went early for his second run and laid down a 1:11.7302s despite having to thread his way through traffic as he negotiated the kink from Parnell Place onto Nobbys Road.

He went fastest to the first sector on his next lap but could ultimately find no improvement on his first run.

Randle was sixth by the time he set the lap which would stand up for pole, inside the final three minutes of the 15-minute session.

Fullwood threatened to unseat the Tickford driver when he went fastest to the second sector but was 0.2080s slower at the control line and did not complete another flyer.

Perkins finished up 0.3409s off the pace, with Ash Walsh (#35 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) and Kurt Kostecki (#55 Triple Eight VF Commodore), the latter of whom has a strong hold on second in the series, to share Row 3 this afternoon.

Brown did not go faster on his second run, which included running long at Turn 11, and was shuffled back to seventh, ahead of Dylan O’Keeffe (#44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore), Brenton Grove (#10 Triple Eight VF Commodore), and Adam Marjoram (#15 Image Racing VF Commodore).

Of MWM’s other two drivers, Zane Goddard (#28 Altima) was 11th and Tyler Everingham (#27 Altima) finished 14th.

Race 1 of Round 7, scheduled for 21 laps, is due to start at 1450 local time/AEDT.

Results: Armor All Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.4644  
2 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 1:11.6724 0:00.2080
3 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 1:11.7070 0:00.2426
4 54 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:11.8053 0:00.3409
5 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 1:11.8211 0:00.3567
6 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:11.8463 0:00.3819
7 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 1:12.0029 0:00.5385
8 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 1:12.0304 0:00.5660
9 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 1:12.1920 0:00.7276
10 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 1:12.2313 0:00.7669
11 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 1:12.2843 0:00.8199
12 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 1:12.5142 0:01.0498
13 18 Cavalier Homes Australia Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.6995 0:01.2351
14 27 R&J Batteries / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 1:13.0075 0:01.5431
15 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 1:13.1170 0:01.6526

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]