Fullwood eases to Super2 Race 1 win in Newcastle

Bryce Fullwood

Provisional series winner Bryce Fullwood has eased to a lights-to-flag win in Race 1 of the final Dunlop Super2 round of the season in Newcastle.

The MW Motorsport driver missed Armor All Pole Position but it did not matter when he won the start and eventually the race, by almost three seconds.

The minor placings were unchanged for the duration with Thomas Randle (#5 Tickford FGX Falcon) second and Jordan Boys (#49 Image Racing VF Commodore) third.

Ash Walsh (#35 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) took fourth while Kurt Kostecki tightened his grip on second in the standings with a finish of fifth in the #55 Triple Eight VF Commodore.

Fullwood (#16 Altima) bested Randle from the outside of the front row and took a clear lead to the first corner.

Boys seized third position as he and Jack Perkins (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) had a small touch through Turn 1, which allowed Walsh to pass the latter at the top end of Watt Street.

Second later, Brenton Grove threatened to send several cars scattering when he arrived at Turn 2 almost sideways on the rear brakes.

The Triple Eight driver managed to catch the #10 VF Commodore and avoid a serious incident, slotting into ninth position.

Fullwood gave himself breathing space at the front and pushed the lead past a second on Lap 3, as Walsh bottled up Perkins, Kostecki, and Will Brown (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore).

Randle saw off an early threat from Boys and Walsh did similar with respect to Perkins, who could not shake Kostecki.

Fullwood was over two seconds up on Randle after 10 out of 20 laps, down one on the scheduled distance due to an extra formation lap.

Perkins locked the left-front of Car #54 at the top of Watt Street on Lap 11 and ventured into the run-off area, a moment which saw him initially drop to 12th before pitting to replace the damaged tyre.

Randle very briefly got the lead back under two seconds when he set the fastest first sector on Lap 14 but took the chequered flag 2.9863s behind Fullwood.

Boys was almost a second behind Car #5, while Walsh finished 8.7s further back again.

After Kostecki came Brown, Dylan O’Keeffe (#44 Garry Rogers VF Commodore), Adam Marjoram (#15 Image Racing VF Commodore), Grove, and Zane Goddard (#28 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima).

Tyler Everingham had a hair-raising moment when he locked up and slid between Matt Chahda (#18 Matt Chahda Motorsport FGX Falcon) Jack Smith (#21 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) at Turn 11 on Lap 3.

Everingham brought the #27 MW Motorsport Altima home in 13th, Smith was 14th, and Perkins a lap down in 15th.

Armor All Qualifying for the final race of the season starts tomorrow at 1050 local time/AEDT.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 20 24:21.7438
2 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 20 24:24.7301
3 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 20 24:25.6065
4 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 20 24:34.2686
5 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 20 24:35.0187
6 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 20 24:38.4649
7 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 20 24:38.8590
8 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 20 24:39.1902
9 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 20 24:43.0432
10 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 20 24:44.9655
11 18 Cavalier Homes Australia Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 20 24:46.6353
12 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 20 24:53.1303
13 27 R&J Batteries / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 20 24:58.4903
14 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 20 25:33.4957
15 54 Eggleston Motorsport Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 19 24:37.6310

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Bryce Fullwood 1786
2 Kurt Kostecki 1382
3 Thomas Randle 1267
4 Zane Goddard 1245
5 Dylan O’Keeffe 1058
6 Tyler Everingham 1039
7 Brenton Grove 972
8 Ashley Walsh 963
9 William Brown 960
10 Jack Smith 953
11 Justin Ruggier 932
12 Jordan Boys 912
13 Adam Marjoram 890
14 Matthew Chahda 755
15 Jake Kostecki 722
16 Jack Perkins 648
17 Mason Barbera 590
18 Brodie Kostecki 434
19 Dean Fiore 310
20 Tim Blanchard 258
21 Joel Heinrich 224
22 Abbie Eaton 76

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]