Marquez dominates Valencia finale, Miller claims podium 

Marc Marquez pic: MotoGP

World champion Marc Marquez completed another dominant season by taking his 12th win of the MotoGP campaign from Fabio Quartararo and Jack Miller at the Valencia finale.

The Repsol Honda rider once again proved unstoppable as the Spaniard helped secure the teams’ title to complete an impressive season, which has seen Marquez score a record points tally.

Marquez initially found himself behind the fast starting Miller (Pramac Ducati) and polesitter Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT).

However, the early stages of the race quickly developed into a duel between Marquez and Quartararo, but it was the former who prevailed before cruising to victory.

Quartararo finished a comfortable second, while Miller ended the season with a credible third, his fifth podium of the season.

Meanwhile, three-time premier class world champion Jorge Lorenzo ended his glittering MotoGP career by claiming points in 13th position from his final race.

It was the fast starting Miller that got the holeshot and led the field into Turn 1 but was immediately under pressure from Quartararo.

By Turn 2 Quartararo had found a way by the Pramac Ducati to take the lead while Marquez stalked the pair in third at the end of the opening lap.

Marquez soon set his sights on Miller, passing the Australian at the final corner on the second lap.

Behind, factory Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso and Suzuki Ecstar’s Alex Rins fought over fourth as Maverick Vinales dropped to seventh.

At the front, Quartararo and Marquez began to break away from Miller in third as the battle for the lead intensified. 

Marquez ramped up the pressure on Quartararo, who had opened up a half a second lead in the opening laps. 

The pressure eventually took its toll as the six-time premier class world champion swept into the lead with a move on Quartararo at Turn 11 on Lap 8.

Once ahead, he wasted little time and quickly established a healthy gap as Quartararo began to fall into the clutches of Miller.

Just shy of the halfway mark the race lost three riders as Danilo Petrucci, Johann Zarco (LCR Honda) and debutant Iker Lecuona (Red Bull KTM) found the gravel at Turn 6.

Petrucci was the first to fall and slide into the gravel trap before being joined seconds later by Zarco and 15th placed Lecuona in separate incidents.

Bizarrely after losing the front of his bike Zarco climbed to his feet in the gravel trap and began to walk to from the incident only to be cleaned off his feet by Lecuona’s errant bike. 

Zarco was stretchered away from the corner and taken to the circuit’s medical centre before returning to his pit garage.

While thoughts were with Zarco, Petrucci’s crash ultimately ended Ducati’s team’s championship hopes, handing the Repsol Honda squad the title.

As Marquez continued to surge towards another win, there was plenty of action behind as Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) crashed out of sixth at Turn 4.

Morbidelli joined a list of retirements that included Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) and Michele Pirro (Ducati).

As the laps ticked by there was no stopping Marquez, who went on to complete a stunning season with yet another victory, as Quartararo took second.

Miller came home a comfortable third ahead of Dovizioso and Rins.

Vinales was left to settle for sixth while Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar), Valentino Rossi (Yamaha), Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM) rounded out the top 10.

Race results: Valencia MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time/Gap
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 41:21.469
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +1.026
3 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati +2.409
4 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati +3.326
5 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +3.508
6 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +8.829
7 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +10.622
8 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +22.992
9 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +32.704
10 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +32.973
11 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +42.795
12 82 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +45.732
13 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda +51.044
14 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +1:04.871
15 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM +1:16.487
DNF 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1 Lap
DNF 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 9 Laps
DNF 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 14 Laps
DNF 5 Johann ZARCO FRA LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 14 Laps
DNF 27 Iker LECUONA ESP Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 14 Laps
DNF 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 19 Laps

Race winner: 27 laps

Championship points

Pos Rider Nat Pts
1 Marc MARQUEZ ESP 420
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA 269
3 Maverick VIÑALES ESP 211
4 Alex RINS ESP 205
6 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA 176
7 Valentino ROSSI ITA 174
8 Jack MILLER AUS 165
10 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA 115
12 Joan MIR ESP 92
13 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN 74
15 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA 54
16 Andrea IANNONE ITA 43
17 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR 33
18 Johann ZARCO FRA 30
19 Jorge LORENZO ESP 28
20 Tito RABAT ESP 23
21 Stefan BRADL GER 16
22 Michele PIRRO ITA 9
23 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS 9
24 Karel ABRAHAM CZE 9
25 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA 7
26 Mika KALLIO FIN 7
27 Bradley SMITH GBR

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]