Sherrin claims Production Car title on dramatic final day

The Sherrin BMW M4

Iain Sherrin has claimed the A1 Class and overall Australian Production Car Series title following a dramatic final day of racing at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Sherrin was one of a host of title winners crowned over the course of the weekend, with Coleby Cowham and Lindsay Kearns taking A2 class in their Ford Mustang.

Two 60-minute races rounded out the final day of the season, Grant Sherrin (BMW M4) claiming the day’s first race before Bradley Carr (BMW M3) claimed the second.

The day’s opening race turned the title on its head, with Iain Sherrin elevated from third to first in the standings while Chris Lillis was demoted to third from the lead.

Grant Sherrin took a strong lead early in the race before the Mustang driven by Kearns settled jumped the BMW M4 in the pit stops, holding a commanding position with just minutes to run.

A traction control issue then saw the leaders shed pace, allowing Sherrin through to claim victory.

In the season finale Iain Sherrin held an early led Cowham into turn one with Nathan Callaghan (Holden HSV VF R8) third.

A repeat of the day’s earlier problems for the Mustang saw it again lose pace, falling to eighth by the time the compulsory pit window opened and soon after retiring due to a failed wheel bearing.

Sherrin and Callaghan followed each other to the pits at the opening of the CPS window, with the latter opting to replace just one tyre versus the Sherrin’s two.

After the pit sequence, Callaghan led from Carr and Sherrin, a result which would have meant a tie in the championship standings.

Carr, however, found a way through before a blown tyre for Callaghan with three laps to run cruelled the Holden’s chances.

It left Carr to win the race and the A2 class ahead of the A1 winning Sherrin, and the FullGas Racing Subaru rounding out the outright podium.

At the end of the season, other class titles fell to Chris Lillis (AM1), Darren Forrest and Paul Razum (AM2), Dimitri Agathos and Matthew Boylan (B1), Frank Mammarella and Kaden Olsen (C1), Kyle Gurton (C2) and Tom Needham (D).

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]