Morcom victorious in unpredictable TCR finale

Nathan Morcom

Nathan Morcom became the ninth different race winner of the 2019 TCR Australia Series following an unpredictable season finale.

Rising through the field as those around him struck trouble, Morcom (Hyundai i30N) charged from sixth on the grid to claim the top step of the podium.

A sluggish start saw Aaron Cameron (Volkswagen Golf GTI) mugged at the start, falling to third by Turn 1 as Jordan Cox (Alfa Romeo Guilietta) claimed the lead from James Moffat (Renault Megane RS).

James Allen (Alfa Romeo Guilietta) ran wide as the field rounded the right hand sequence midway around the lap of the circuit, bouncing through the grass before rejoining.

A torrid opening lap saw Tony D’Alberto (Honda Civic Type R) drop to 17th by the end of the opening lap, while Peugeot’s Aurelien Comte was going the other way as he climbed to eighth.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Cameron slipped further back to sit seventh behind Cox, Moffat, Morcom, Chris Pither (Renault Megane RS), and Will Brown (Hyundai i30N).

Morcom had put a move on Brown at the Hairpin, with Pither following the Hyundai driver through to push the champion-elect two places in a single corner.

On Lap 3 Russell Ingall (Audi RS 3 LMS) found himself pointing the wrong way after spinning at Turn 13, the left rear suspension appearing to fail.

Next time through Pither collected the errant spring left by Ingall’s car, though it did nothing to hamper his immediate progress.

Soon after Moffat pulled off the road while running second, coming to a stop midway around the lap as he entered Elfin Straight.

With Moffat out, Morcom moved to second and Pither third, Brown having dropped 2.5 seconds further back in fourth and under the attentions of Cameron.

Cox’s time out front came to an end when he left the road at ‘The Threesome’ complex of right handers midway around the lap, ending up well off the road with what appeared to be a failure.

It promoted Morcom to the lead, with Pither glued to his rear bumper, with Brown third and Cameron fourth.

Comte’s early progress stalled, as it had done in the day’s earlier race, the Frenchman holding down 10th ahead of Alexandra Whitley (Volkswagen Golf GTI).

Running fourth, a turbo issue saw Cameron struggle for pace, quickly dropping back from Brown.

With two laps to run he fell victim to D’Alberto, a change of position which would ultimately see second in the championship – and $50,000 – change hands.

Morcom held on to take his first race win in the series, holding off Pither by seven tenths.

Brown was third from Heimgartner with D’Alberto fifth to confirm himself second in the championship.

In the run to the line,┬áCameron’s ailing Volkswagen was mugged by both Comte and Tim Brook (Cupra Leon) to finish 10th, dropping to third in the championship.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai I30N 14 27:34.1288
2 33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Chris Pither Renault Megane RS 14 27:34.8657
3 30 HMO Customer Racing Will Brown Hyundai I30N 14 27:38.3831
4 777 Kelly Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Astra 14 27:44.7279
5 50 Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto Honda Civic Type R 14 27:52.5610
6 24 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R 14 27:54.3850
7 8 Taskforce / Melb.Perf.Centre Jason Bright Volkswagen Golf GTI 14 27:56.7754
8 308 DG Sport Aurelien Comte Peugeot 308 14 28:06.4363
9 64 Garage 1 Tim Brook Cupra SEAT Leon 300 14 28:07.1011
10 2 Melbourne Performance Centre Aaron Cameron Volkswagen Golf GTI 14 28:07.1934
11 35 Melbourne Performance Centre Alexandra Whitley Volkswagen Golf GTI 14 28:08.6787
12 3 Melbourne Performance Centre Iain McDougall Audi RS 3 14 28:09.5011
13 19 Milldun Motorsport Matthew Simmons Subaru WRX STi 14 28:10.9701
14 10 Ashley Seward Motorsport James Allen Alfa Romeo Giulietta 14 29:24.5609
15 27 Milldun Motorsport Barton Mawer Subaru WRX STi 14 29:30.9221
DNF 7 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta 7 13:51.6448
DNF 34 Garry Rogers Motorsport James Moffat Renault Megane RS 4 7:58.7952
DNF 100 Melbourne Performance Centre Russell Ingall Audi RS 3 3 6:56.6994

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Will Brown 733
2 Tony D’Alberto 557
3 Aaron Cameron 546
4 Nathan Morcom 500
5 Dylan O’Keeffe 483
6 James Moffat 440
7 Jason Bright 412
8 John Martin 390
9 Russell Ingall 326
10 Garth Tander 286
11 Jordan Cox 281
12 Chris Pither 270
13 Andre Heimgartner 262
14 Leanne Tander 220
15 Alexandra Whitley 215
16 Alex Rullo 209
17 Nestor Girolami 132
18 Hamish Ribarits 118
19 Molly Taylor 116
20 Jimmy Vernon 77
21 Bryce Fullwood 76
22 Michael Almond 74
23 Tim Brook 73
24 Liam McAdam 65
25 Chelsea Angelo 56
26 Jordan Michels 46
27 Jean Karl Vernay 42
28 Rik Breukers 40
29 Mat Simmons 33
30 Aurelien Comte 31
31 James Allen 24
32 Barton Mawer 17
33 Aaron Seton 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]