Whincup/Lowndes in box seat to win Pirtek Enduro Cup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes will take a slight lead into the final race of this year’s Pirtek Enduro Cup, the Sandown 500, which they will start from pole.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team pair sat second to team-mates Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander after the Gold Coast 600.

However, wins for Lowndes and Whincup in the qualifying sprints at the Penrite Oil Sandown 500, combined with a DNF for van Gisbergen in his 20-lap race, have put Car #888 21 points clear at the top of the series within a series on 628 points.

Van Gisbergen/Tander are now second, while Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winners Scott McLaughlin and Alexandre Premat still occupy third on 500 points.

Whincup/Lowndes could guarantee that a Triple Eight Race Engineering entry would win the Pirtek Enduro Cup by finishing 10th in today’s 161-lap race, which would put them out of race of McLaughlin/Premat.

Van Gisbergen/Tander would have to climb to eighth from second-last on the grid to ensure they are not overhauled by the #17 Shell V-Power Racing Team entry, which now starts behind them after their engine penalty from Bathurst.

If Whincup/Lowndes could pull off the Pirtek Enduro Cup win, Lowndes would become the first driver to go back-to-back.

Pirtek Enduro Cup standings

Pos Num Drivers Team Pts
1 888 Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Race Engineering 628
2 97 Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander Triple Eight Race Engineering 607
3 17 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat DJR Team Penske 500
4 9 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden Erebus Motorsport 465
5 2 Scott Pye/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Andretti United 459
6 22 James Courtney/Jack Perkins Walkinshaw Andretti United 454
7 5 Lee Holdsworth/Thomas Randle Tickford Racing 441
8 23 Will Davison/Alex Davison 23Red Racing 414
9 6 Cameron Waters/Michael Caruso Tickford Racing 372
10 15 Rick Kelly/Dale Wood Kelly Racing 360
11 18 Mark Winterbottom/Steven Richards Team 18 343
12 8 Nick Percat/Tim Blanchard Brad Jones Racing 303
13 12 Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto DJR Team Penske 296
14 19 Jack Le Brocq/Jonathon Webb Tekno Autosports 266
15 3 Garry Jacobson/Dean Fiore Kelly Racing 258
16 21 Macauley Jones/Dean Canto Brad Jones Racing 255
17 78 Simona De Silvestro/Alex Rullo Kelly Racing 252
18 34 James Golding/Richard Muscat Garry Rogers Motorsport 248
19 99 Anton De Pasquale/Will Brown Erebus Motorsport 230
20 33 Richie Stanaway/Chris Pither Garry Rogers Motorsport 208
21 14 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh Brad Jones Racing 171
22 56 Brodie Kostecki/Jake Kostecki Kostecki Brothers Racing 152
23 55 Chaz Mostert/James Moffat Tickford Racing 148
24 7 Andre Heimgartner/Bryce Fullwood Kelly Racing 128
25 35 Todd Hazelwood/Jack Smith Matt Stone Racing 125

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]