RBHRT in strong position to clinch Pirtek Enduro Cup

Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander lead the Pirtek Enduro Cup

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Gold Coast double one-two has it in a strong position to win this year’s Pirtek Enduro Cup with either of its entries.

Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes led Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander home in Race 26 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship in Surfers Paradise, with the quinella reversed in Race 27 on the following day.

Those results have not only seen Triple Eight Race Engineering close the gap to Shell V-Power Racing Team at the top of the teams’ championship, but also put the Banyo squad’s cars first and second in the Pirtek Enduro Cup standings.

The #97 entry of van Gisbergen/Tander has finished first or second in each race of the Pirtek Enduro Cup thus far and holds 564 points through the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and Vodafone Gold Coast 600.


Whincup/Lowndes were fourth at Mount Panorama and sit 36 points back, while Great Race winners Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat are third in the #17 DJR Team Penske entry despite missing Sunday’s race on the glitter strip due to the championship leader’s frightening crash in Armor All Qualifying.

The Ford duo are 135 points off the lead of the series within a series, but a quirk in the format of this year’s Penrite Oil Sandown 500, which closes out the Pirtek Enduro Cup makes for a more complicated scenario to establish a winner.

This year’s qualifying heats for the heritage 500km enduro are official races with championship points on the line; 50 each for Races 28 and 29 (60km sprints) and 250 for the 161-lapper on Sunday week.

One scenario in which a Triple Eight entry would win the Pirtek Enduro Cup is if Car #97 finishes no worse than seventh in each of the three races in Melbourne.

In the unlikely event that both Triple Eight entries do suffer significant setbacks, the two Walkinshaw Andretti United combinations are within a dozen points of McLaughlin/Premat and could therefore also become a factor.

Triple Eight has won the Pirtek Enduro Cup in four years out of the six in which it has been contested to 2018.

All of its current drivers have been among those to take the title, although Tander did so with WAU (then the Holden Racing Team) in 2015.

Practice at Sandown starts on Friday, November 8.

Pirtek Enduro Cup standings

Pos Num Drivers Team Pts
1 97 Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander Triple Eight Race Engineering 564
2 888 Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Race Engineering 528
3 17 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat DJR Team Penske 429
4 2 Scott Pye/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Andretti United 423
5 22 James Courtney/Jack Perkins Walkinshaw Andretti United 411
6 9 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden Erebus Motorsport 390
7 5 Lee Holdsworth/Thomas Randle Tickford Racing 372
8 23 Will Davison/Alex Davison 23Red Racing 348
9 15 Rick Kelly/Dale Wood Kelly Racing 321
9 6 Cameron Waters/Michael Caruso Tickford Racing 321
11 18 Mark Winterbottom/Steven Richards Team 18 300
12 8 Nick Percat/Tim Blanchard Brad Jones Racing 267
13 19 Jack Le Brocq/Jonathon Webb Tekno Autosports 240
13 12 Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto DJR Team Penske 240
15 21 Macauley Jones/Dean Canto Brad Jones Racing 228
16 3 Garry Jacobson/Dean Fiore Kelly Racing 225
17 78 Simona De Silvestro/Alex Rullo Kelly Racing 213
18 34 James Golding/Richard Muscat Garry Rogers Motorsport 201
19 33 Richie Stanaway/Chris Pither Garry Rogers Motorsport 174
20 99 Anton De Pasquale/Will Brown Erebus Motorsport 162
21 14 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh Brad Jones Racing 144
22 55 Chaz Mostert/James Moffat Tickford Racing 120
23 56 Brodie Kostecki/Jake Kostecki Kostecki Brothers Racing 108
24 35 Todd Hazelwood/Jack Smith Matt Stone Racing 90
25 7 Andre Heimgartner/Bryce Fullwood Kelly Racing 42

Previous Pirtek Enduro Cup winners

Year Drivers Team
2013 Craig Lowndes/Warren Luff Triple Eight Race Engineering
2014 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell Triple Eight Race Engineering
2015 Garth Tander/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Racing
2016 Shane van Gisbergen/Alexandre Premat Triple Eight Race Engineering
2017 Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen Tickford Racing
2018 Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards Triple Eight Race Engineering

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]