TCR Australia releases expanded calendar for 2020

TCR Australia has announced a seven event 2020 calendar

TCR Australia has released an expanded 2020 calendar that includes seven points-paying rounds and two non-championship events.

Next year’s schedule will see the series make its debut at Albert Park in support of the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix.

Though not forming part of the TCR Australia Series in terms of points, it will see the event host a standalone TCR Asia Pacific Cup.

The season proper then begins in late March with the opening round at Sydney Motorsport Park.

From there the series will make its maiden appearance at Mount Panorama with confirmation today that the Bathurst 6 Hour event will form a round of the Shannons Nationals.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the TCR. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Visits to Winton and The Bend Motorsport Park follow before a round which is yet to be confirmed, though likely to be Queensland Raceway.

The Shannons Nationals and Supercars have typically run on consecutive weekends, though with the later not visiting the Ipswich circuit in 2020 the July date remains unconfirmed.

Phillip Island is also unconfirmed, though that date has an asterisk alongside it as details of the commercial details are hammered out.

The series then comes to a conclusion at Sandown in September, with the final event of the year pencilled in as the new event at Bathurst.

“The Australian Racing Group is delighted to confirm the provisional calendar for the 2020 TCR Australia Series,” said Matt Braid, director of TCR promoter, the Australian Racing Group.

“The introduction of the TCR Asia Pacific Cup is the perfect way to kick off the new season. There will be a lot at stake when our local teams go up against some of the best TCR drivers and teams from around the world on the biggest stage that this country has to offer.

“Bringing Bathurst into our series is going to be a winner for everyone. It will be fabulous to see sprint touring car racing return to the iconic track in almost 25 years too.

“The TCR calendar featuring new and high profile events, plus the ability for the competitors to race against international competition further cements TCR Australia as the most international and market relevant touring car category in the the country for drivers and teams alike.”

TCR Australia heads to The Bend Motorsport Park for its final round of the 2019 season on November 15-17.

2020 TCR Australia Calendar

TCR Asia Pacific Cup: Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park, 12-15 March
Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, 27-29 March
Round 2: Bathurst 6 Hour, 10-12 April
Round 3: Winton, 1-3 May
Round 4: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12-14 June
Round 5: TBC, 3-5 July
Round 6: Phillip Island, 21-23 August*
Round 7: Sandown, 11-13 September
New Bathurst event: Mount Panorama, Bathurst, Date TBC

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]