Viñales takes pole at Phillip Island

Maverick Viñales pic:

Monster Energy Yamaha’s Maverick Viñales has continued his dominant form ahead of the Pramac Generac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix by setting the fastest time in the delayed qualifying session at Phillip Island.

After the blustery weather experienced at Phillip Island a day earlier, it was cool overcast conditions this morning for MotoGP warm up and then qualifying.

Viñales set a time of 1:28.492s to head fellow Yamaha runner Fabio Quartararo (Petronas SRT) by over half a second and world champion Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda).

Marquez had a late scare when he ran wide at Doohan Corner and had to straight-line through the grass.

Quartararo gained plenty of praise for his performance after he crashed heavily in Friday’s wet morning session. He missed dry running that afternoon and despite having to limp on and off the bike he had to come through Qualifying 1.

Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha), who is celebrating his 400th Grand Prix event this weekend, will start fourth ahead of Danilo Petrucci (Ducati Team).

Australia’s Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) could only manage ninth despite being on the pace in practice and the morning warm up.

Miller turned heads during warm-up and qualifying when he took to the track in a silver livery and leathers. The warrior look is a one-off colour change to celebrate him racing at his home Grand Prix.

One less bike will start the race after Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Tech3) was ruled out with a wrist injury after his heavy crash on Saturday.

He was cleared of any fractures but woke this morning in considerable pain and will have an MRI in Melbourne before departing for next week’s Malaysian Grand Prix.

With showers predicted for the afternoon a ‘flag-to-flag’ race is a real possibility with crews set to have two bikes per rider available; one for dry and the other for wet. Riders will be able to pit and swap machines if the weather changes.

Race start is 1500 local time/AEDT.

Qualifying: Australian MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:28.492
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:29.043 0.551 / 0.551
3 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:29.216 0.724 / 0.173
4 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:29.243 0.751 / 0.027
5 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:29.339 0.847 / 0.096
6 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:29.535 1.043 / 0.196
7 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:29.558 1.066 / 0.023
8 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:29.581 1.089 / 0.023
9 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati 1:29.615 1.123 / 0.034
10 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:29.667 1.175 / 0.052
11 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha 1:29.716 1.224 / 0.049
12 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:29.947 1.455 / 0.231
13 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:29.712 Q1 / Q1
14 5 Johann ZARCO FRA LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:30.008 Q1 / 0.296
15 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 1:30.075 Q1 / 0.067
16 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:30.165 Q1 / 0.090
17 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:30.180 Q1 / 0.015
18 82 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:30.495 Q1 / 0.315
19 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:31.179 Q1 / 0.684
20 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM 1:31.285 Q1 / 0.106
21 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:31.941 Q1 / 0.656

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]