Five outright cars in 17-car AGT Gold Coast field

Geoff Emery leads the championship

Australian GT will feature just five outright entries among its 17-car field at this weekend’s Vodafone Gold Coast 600.

The event marks Australian GT’s first visit to Surfers Paradise since 2012, and its first appearance on the Supercars bill since May’s Pirtek Perth SuperNight.

Heading into the event, the penultimate round of AGT’s 2019 season, Geoff Emery holds a 178 point advantage over Peter Hackett, the pair the only two in contention for this year’s title.

Emery (Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo) and Hackett (Mercedes-AMG GT3) will be joined by Fraser Ross (McLaren 720S GT3), Tony Quinn (Aston Martin Vantage GT3), and Ryan Millier (Lamborghini Huracan GT3) in a five-car outright field.

It follows a four-car outright field at the most recent AGT event, the Australian Endurance Championship finale at Sandown last month.

The only addition in car terms is Quinn, while Millier steps back into an outright machine, the Trofeo Estate entry he’ll pilot having been driven by Liam Talbot and Joseph Ensabella at Sandown.

The field also includes Trophy class entries from Dale Paterson (Chevrolet Camaro GT3), Richard Gartner (Lamborghini R-EX GT3), Peter Corbett (Lamborghini R-EX GT3), and Ensabella (Porsche 997 GT3 Cup Car).

Justin McMillan and Glen Wood will again pair up in an M Motorsport KTM X-Bow GT4, alongside an identical entry for David Crampton and Trent Harrison. Todd O’Brien rounds out the three-car class in a Ginetta G50 GT4.

Fleshing out the field are Invitational entries, including that of Super3 Series winner Broc Feeney in a MARC Mazda V8, with the four-car fleet also sporting 16-year-old Bayley Hall, and regular competitors Geoff Taunton and Adam Hargreaves.

The sole Trofeo Challenge entry is that of Nick Karnaros in a Porsche 997 GT3 Cup Car.

Australian GT will feature a single practice and back-to-back qualifying sessions on Friday, while Saturday and Sunday will each host a 60-minute race.

Entry List: Australian GT, Gold Coast

Num Driver Car Class
1 Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS Evo GT3 Championship
7 Tony Quinn Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Championship
59 Fraser Ross McLaren 720S GT3 Championship
63 Peter Hackett Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
129 Ryan Millier Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Championship
48 Justin McMillan/Glen Wood KTM X-Bow GT4 GT4
50 David Crampton/Trent Harrison KTM X-Bow GT4 GT4
211 Todd O’Brien Ginetta G50 GT4 GT4
64 Joseph Ensabella Porsche 997 Cup Car Trophy
69 Richard Gartner Lamborghini R-EX GT3 Trophy
71 Dale Paterson Chevrolet Camaro GT3 Trophy
73 Peter Corbett Lamborghini R-EX GT3 Trophy
20 Adam Hargraves MARC Focus V8 Invitational
28 Bayley Hall MARC Focus V8 Invitational
93 Broc Feeney MARC Mazda V8 Invitational
95 Geoff Taunton MARC Focus V8 Invitational
25 Nick Karnaros Porsche 991 GT3 Cup Car Trofeo Challenge

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]