French ace takes second straight Race of Stars win


Sunday 20th October, 2019 - 10:59am


Anthony Abbasse won the Race of Stars for the second year straight pic: Pace Images

Frenchman Anthony Abbasse has won the Race of Stars karting event for the second year straight despite being pipped to the chequered flag by 0.005s.

The SodiKart factory team driver had led all the way before being passed by Patrizicorse’s Matthew Payne at the line at the Gold Coast’s Xtreme Karting Complex.

However, Payne, who charged from seventh on the grid, was subsequently penalised two positions for a bodywork infringement sustained on his Ricciardo Kart earlier in the 15-lap race.

As such, he finished third, behind another SodiKart driver in Mathew Kinsman while the Jim Morton Perpetual Trophy for best Australian competitor went to Kye Cavedon.

In KA2, EVO Kart driver Adrian Haak prevailed by 0.09s over Ethan Feather in a Parolin entry.

Brendan Nelson became a three-time winner at the Race of Stars as he held off Marc Tulloch by 0.056s in TaG 125.

KA3 Junior was taken out by Kurtis Tennant, KA4 Junior by Kobi Williams, KA3 Senior by Jace Matthews, and Cadet 12 by Harry Arnett. comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!