AMRS WRAP: Salmon prevails in GT-1 at Wakefield Park

Rod Salmon out front

GT-1 Australia

Rod Salmon has become the fourth different GT-1 Australia round winner of 2019 with a sixth and first in the two races at Wakefield Park.

Salmon fell down the order in the first 50-minute race as a result of a long compulsory pit stop time, but the reverse was true in Race 2, when a sequence of fast laps and smart pit stop timing enabled him to emerge in front of the pack.

Geoff Taunton finished second overall in the outright class, despite spinning into the Turn 2 sand trap due to a bump from fellow MARC II driver Adam Hargraves in Race 2 which necessitated a Code 40 interruption while his car was retrieved.

Third place went to John Morriss, who finished seventh and second in the two races, and emerged from the weekend with the championship lead following Matt Stoupas’ Saturday qualifying dramas.

The MARC I class win went to John Goodacre, who took advantage of a short compulsory pit stop time to score the outright victory in Race 1; Bayley Hall and Ryan McLeod completed the MARC podium.

John Magro

Australian Formula 3 Championship

John Magro claimed his third outright circuit record of the season on his way to picking up another two race victories in the Australian Formula 3 Championship, extending his undefeated streak to 15 races.

The Cairns mango farmer also became the first driver to win the City of Goulburn Cup and Australian Formula 3 Championship in the same season, thanks to his victory in Race 3.

Magro lowered the Wakefield Park benchmark to 0:53.4s in this morning’s second race, taking 0.3s off the previous best time around the circuit, set by Harri Jones in 2018.

Josh Buchan continued his gallant fight with another pair of second place finishes, while Shane Wilson finished third overall in the Championship Class, after Reilly Brook took an off-track excursion at Turn 10 in the final race.

The overall National Class win went to Gerrit Ruff ahead of Ryan Astley and Roman Krumins; Ruff leads Krumins by just four points with one round remaining.

Mazda RX8 Cup

Mazda RX8 Cup

Aaron Prosser sealed the title with a sweep of the final round of the season.

While Prosser scored comfortable lights-to-flag victories in each of Races 3 to 5 of the weekend, Jake Lougher, Lachlan O’Hara, and Will Harris battled vigorously for second position, swapping places on several occasions.

Will Harris chalked up a DNF in Race 5 after making late-race contact with O’Hara, but Harris still secured second in the series ahead of Terry Lewis, who limped to the line with a mechanical problem in the final.

Miniature Race Cars

Miniature Race Cars

Chad Cotton broke the lap record and won Races 3 through 5 but still missed out on round honours due to a Race 1 DNF in his Future Racer.

Craig White, also in a Future Racer, claimed the overall weekend win with a trio of second place finishes to go with his two wins a day earlier.

Colin Sieders

Historic Touring Cars/Utes

Mustang driver Adam Walton and Torana racer Chris Thomas continued their entertaining battle in the Historic Touring Cars.

Thomas won Race 3 after Walton suffered a mechanical problem, but Walton used the superior horsepower of his Mustang to blast into the Race 4 lead, and led from start to finish in Race 5.

The Aussie Racing Utes round win went to former Australian Paralympian Colin Sieders, who scored three race victories.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]