AMRS WRAP: Magro clinches F3 title

John Magro leads Josh Buchan

Australian Formula 3 Championship

John Magro has clinched the Australian Formula 3 Championship for R-Tek Motorsport with victory in Race 1 at Wakefield Park.

Magro had to withstand a concerted attack from maiden pole-sitter Josh Buchan to do so, even if he won the start in his Gilmour Racing Dallara F308/11.

Buchan chased Magro all the way to the chequered flag, punching out multiple fastest laps in the process.

However, the Cairns mango farmer resisted the attacks for a 13th consecutive victory of the season, securing the title with five races remaining.

The National Class points lead changed after Roman Krumins collided with his title rival Gerrit Ruff at the Fish-hook.

Krumins retired from the race, but Ruff was able to finish second behind Ryan Astley, thus moving back to the top of the standings.

Mazda RX8 Cup

Mazda RX8 Cup

Aaron Prosser has solidified his Mazda RX8 Cup lead, qualifying on pole position and taking a pair of lights-to-flag race victories from Lachlan O’Hara and Jake Lougher.

Prosser’s main title rival, Will Harris, qualified third and was challenging O’Hara for second position in Race 1 before spinning off the circuit at Turn 9 on the final lap and falling to fifth.

Harris lost further ground with a slow start in Race 2, which saw him plummeting outside the top 10. He recovered to finish eighth, but now faces a 36-point deficit in the standings with three races remaining tomorrow.

John Morriss drives past the damaged Audi of Matt Stoupas

GT-1 Australia

Porsche 911 GT3-R driver John Morriss claimed his first GT-1 Australia pole position after the series leader entering the weekend, Matt Stoupas, was involved in a collision with Adam Hargraves (MARC II Coupe) in the first qualifying session.

Stoupas’ Audi R8 suffered rear suspension damage which eliminated him from the second qualifying session; the qualifying points gained by Morriss were enough for him to move into the series lead.

Geoff Taunton qualified his MARC II Coupe second ahead of Rod Salmon (Audi R8).

Miniature Race Cars

Miniature Race Cars

Craig White extended his lead in the Miniature Race Car Series by winning Races 1 and 2 in his Future Racer.

White battled with polesitter Chad Cotton early in Race 1, before Cotton retired with loose engine headers; Aussie Racing Car drivers Peter Griffiths and Matt Thewlis took advantage to move up to second and third positions.

In Race 2, Cotton charged from the rear of the field to second place, finishing just 0.3s shy of White, while Griffiths finished third; Stephen Chilby (Legend Car) ran inside the top four before falling down the order with a late spin.

Historic Touring Cars

Historic Touring Cars/Utes

Adam Walton (Mustang) and Chris Thomas (Torana XU-1) staged an entertaining battle in the NSW Historic Touring Cars, both drivers exploiting the strengths and weaknesses of their cars.

Walton claimed a narrow win in Race 1, but retired with mechanical problems in Race 2, handing Thomas an easy win.

Sieders Racing Commodore team-mates Colin Sieders and Glenn Hancox each claimed a win in the Aussie Racing Utes; Wayne Williams retired from Race 1 with a blown engine.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]