Love takes Bathurst clean sweep in Carrera Cup

Jordan Love

Jordan Love has completed a second consecutive clean-sweep weekend in Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Love took a sixth win in a row in Race 3, leading from start to finish after withstanding pressure from Cooper Murray on multiple occasions in the nine-lap encounter.

Murray and David Wall were second and third, followed by Nick McBride and Thomas Maxwell in fifth on debut at Mount Panorama.

Love converted well off the start and kept Murray behind, despite a challenge on the outside on Lap 2 at Griffins Bend, where Wall sliced past McBride for third just behind them.

Liam Talbot dived down the inside of Roger Lago to snap up second in Pro-Am at The Chase on the same lap.

Cameron Hill picked off Steve Richards for sixth on Lap 6 at Griffins Bend, with Richards then having to defend from Dale Wood.

At the front of the field, Murray was closely tucked up behind Love and began to apply pressure for the lead.

Under siege from Murray, Love began to up the pace and after Murray dropped a wheel off at McPhillamy Park, the lead went out to 0.7s on the last lap.

Love’s victory hands him the series lead with a two-point gap to Wood, who finished the race seventh, heading into the eight and final round.

Richards ended up in the gravel trap at The Chase, bouncing across the sand before becoming beached with two laps to go.

Talbot passed Adrian Flack for the Pro-Am class victory with a move at The Chase in the closing stages.

The Carrera Cup Australia season concludes at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 from October 25-27.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Cls Laps Race time
1 777 Sonic / Bob Jane T-Marts/SRG Jordan Love P 9 19:07.6409
2 36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray P 9 19:08.4152
3 38 PAYCE David Wall P 9 19:11.1036
4 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 9 19:12.3633
5 5 Sonic Thomas Maxwell P 9 19:13.0824
6 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill P 9 19:13.7203
7 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 9 19:17.2588
8 27 Wash It Liam Talbot A 9 19:24.0243
9 20 Agas National Adrian Flack A 9 19:27.0520
10 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts/PSA Aus Michael Almond P 9 19:29.5789
11 34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee P 9 19:39.0217
12 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 9 19:40.8897
13 23 Dayco / Lago Cold Stores Roger Lago A 9 19:41.1241
14 6 Garage 1 Tim Miles A 9 19:41.6643
15 13 The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Sam Shahin A 9 19:42.0776
16 22 BMF Dean Cook A 9 19:42.3686
17 30 DRM Motorsport David Ryan A 9 19:56.3750
18 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor A 9 20:11.6291
19 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 9 20:12.0586
20 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 9 20:20.1269
DNF 12 O’Brien Electrical and Plumb Steve Richards P 6 12:53.1717

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]