Pretty passes Walsh for SuperUtes Race 3 victory

Nathan Pretty

Nathan Pretty made an early pass on Ben Walsh to take victory in the final race of Round 6 of the SuperUtes at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Debutant Pretty (Holden Colorado) snatched the lead at the end of the opening lap from Walsh (Toyota Hilux) before building a healthy margin out front and taking the chequered flag four seconds to the good.

Cameron Crick (Mitsubishi Triton) worked his way to a second place finish, while Tom Alexander (Isuzu D-Max) finished third despite contact.

At the start, Walsh had the inside line for Hell Corner and led up Mountain Straight from Pretty.

Pretty challenged for the lead later in the lap, with the pair running side-by-side from the kink at The Chase through to Murray’s Corner where Pretty was able to complete the move.

The squabble between the leading pair allowed Alexander to close up, attempting to pass Walsh at The Chase on the following lap.

Contact was made on corner exit which resulted in a tank-slapper for Alexander and he dropped to fifth, behind Crick and Josh Anderson (Toyota Hilux).

Alexander reclaimed the spot at Griffins Bend to get back into fourth place just as Crick began challenging Walsh for second.

Walsh ran wide on the exit of the final corner on Lap 3, opening the door for Crick to pass and Alexander also made his way by on the following lap on Conrod Straight.

Walsh ended up fourth, while Anderson completed the top five.

Both Ryal Harris and Elliot Barbour were non-starters due to earlier engine failures.

Matt Spratt retired to the pits early in the race, while Bayley Hall stopped on track on the last lap.

Round 7 of the ECB SuperUtes Series supports the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 on October 25-27.

Results: Race 3

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 18 AC Delco Racing Nathan Pretty Holden Colorado 5 13:35.3614
2 7 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 5 13:39.3496
3 22 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 5 13:39.6555
4 8 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 5 13:41.5321
5 68 Sieders Racing Team Joshua Anderson Toyota Hilux 5 13:42.6948
6 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 5 13:53.8651
7 72 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Thompson Toyota Hilux 5 14:08.9347
8 49 Allgate Auto Doors Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 5 14:10.9951
9 11 Tyre Works Mega Matthew Spratt Holden Colorado 4 14:09.8084
DNF 94 Allgate Auto Doors Bayley Hall Ford Ranger 4 11:23.6425

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Tom Alexander 857
2 Cameron Crick 818
3 Ben Walsh 776
4 Ryal Harris 764
5 Craig Woods 580
6 Christopher Formosa 519
7 Craig Thompson 504
8 Toby Price 471
9 Benjamin Falk 357
10 Elliot Barbour 280
11 Michael Sieders 245
12 Jeff Watters 229
13 Nathan Pretty 163
14 Joshua Anderson 141
15 Keven Stoopman 127
16 Gerard Maggs 127
17 Madison Dunston 123
18 Jaiden Maggs 123
19 Luke van Herwaarde 99
20 Adam Dodd 64
21 Ronnie Conquest 52
22 Peter Major 48
23 Craig Dontas 19
24 Dean Canto 0
25 Gilbert Slade 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]