Love takes fifth Carrera Cup win in a row

Jordan Love

Jordan Love took his fifth win in a row in dominant fashion in Race 2 of Round 7 of Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

After a strong start, Love put his head down and was not headed for the remainder of the nine-lap race.

Cooper Murray held off David Wall and they finished second and third respectively, while Nick McBride and Thomas Maxwell completed the top five.

Love led cleanly away at the start but further back Dale Wood had a sluggish getaway, with a number of cars having to go around him on the grid.

Wall was immediately defensive under attack from Murray, who dived down the inside at Murray’s Corner at the end of the opening lap to grab second.

Michael Almond had a spin on his own exiting The Chase on Lap 3, dropping from seventh to 17th.

Murray made a mistake at Hell Corner on Lap 8, giving Wall the opportunity to pull alongside up Mountain Straight, however Murray had the inside line and held onto the position.

Love set the fastest lap of the race on the final lap with a 2:06.905s, claiming victory by more than five seconds to the good over Murray.

Adrian Flack took out the Pro-Am class in seventh outright.

The final Carrera Cup race of the weekend takes place on Sunday at 1005 local time/AEDT.

Results: Race 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Cls Laps Race time
1 777 Sonic / Bob Jane T-Marts/SRG Jordan Love P 9 19:08.2731
2 36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray P 9 19:13.6429
3 38 PAYCE David Wall P 9 19:14.1659
4 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 9 19:16.4254
5 5 Sonic Thomas Maxwell P 9 19:18.6146
6 12 O’Brien Electrical and Plumb Steve Richards P 9 19:20.9793
7 20 Agas National Adrian Flack A 9 19:22.7941
8 27 Wash It Liam Talbot A 9 19:24.4973
9 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 9 19:27.8407
10 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill P 9 19:33.1716
11 23 Dayco / Lago Cold Stores Roger Lago A 9 19:37.4841
12 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 9 19:38.4499
13 34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee P 9 19:38.9891
14 6 Garage 1 Tim Miles A 9 19:41.6300
15 22 BMF Dean Cook A 9 19:42.1475
16 13 The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Sam Shahin A 9 19:45.1482
17 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts/PSA Aus Michael Almond P 9 19:46.0552
18 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 9 20:10.1787
19 30 DRM Motorsport David Ryan A 9 20:10.4692
20 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 9 20:29.1405
21 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor A 9 20:34.2631

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]