Fullwood stripped of Bathurst Super2 win

Bryce Fullwood

Bryce Fullwood has lost his win in the Dunlop Super2 Series’ Bathurst 250 after he set the fastest lap of the race with a local yellow flag out.

Tickford Racing’s Thomas Randle has inherited the victory having crossed the finish line more than 13 seconds behind Fullwood after the MW Motorsport driver was handed a 15-second penalty.

As such, the series leader’s #16 Altima has been reclassified in second position given that the final podium finisher, Kurt Kostecki, provisionally finished more than 18 seconds in arrears.

Fullwood had dominated Super2’s showpiece 41-lap race around Mount Panorama, and indeed the round as a whole.

The Northern Territorian even lost an effective lead of over 13 seconds when the Safety Car was called with less than 16 laps remaining, and led from lights to flag but for the pit stop cycle.

However, he reset the lap record to a 2:06.5888s on Lap 41 of 41 despite a local yellow applying at The Chase for Ash Walsh’s beached Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore.

Timing shows that Fullwood’s fastest third sector was set on that lap, while Randle and Kostecki were respectively 0.5s and 0.8s slower from the exit of Forrest’s Elbow to the control line than they had been on their previous laps.

“Following a post-race investigation and an admission of a breach of Schedule B3, Article 4.2 (Yellow flag) by Car 16, Bryce Fullwood, the Stewards imposed the penalty of the addition of 15 seconds to Car 16’s race time,” read the stewards report.

“Additionally, the Stewards invalidated Car 16’s lap time for Lap 41.”

Fullwood was unaware of the investigation when asked about the matter by Speedcafe.com in the post-race press conference, recounting then, “To be honest with you, I was fixated on what I was doing.

“I saw the car (Walsh) once I was already committed onto the brakes, but to be honest I was fairly full steam ahead, looking at where I was going.”

For Randle, the race win is his second in Super2 and, ironically, comes two rounds after he lost what would have been his first due to post-race penalties for Safety Car restart infringements.

It means he has a slightly stronger hold on second position in the series, which he had already moved into with the second placing after Fullwood’s team-mate Zane Goddard finished 10th.

Fullwood is nevertheless still more than a round up in the standings and will take a 357-point lead to the penultimate round at Sandown, from November 8-10.

Meanwhile, it was determined that Walsh’s clash with Jordan Boys which led to the yellow flag did not warrant referral to the stewards, despite the MSR driver clipping the side of the Image Racing VF Commodore when he outbraked himself at the left-hander on Lap 40.

Thomas Randle

Results: Race, Bathurst 250

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 41 1:34:00.2433
2 16 Middy’s Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 41 1:34:01.9491
3 55 Arcoweld Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:05.2700
4 10 Grove Hire Racing Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:09.6104
5 27 R&J Batteries / MWM Tyler Everingham Nissan Altima 41 1:34:11.8050
6 44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:13.4893
7 49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:15.2135
8 33 Sherrin Rentals David Russell Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:17.2899
9 18 Cavalier Homes Australia Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG/X 41 1:34:17.5261
10 28 BGD Architects / MWM Zane Goddard Nissan Altima 41 1:34:22.8591
11 88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:23.2297
12 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 41 1:34:36.2114
DNF 35 Matt Stone Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore VF 39 1:29:53.5746
DNF 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 29 1:08:32.2362
DNF 15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 25 55:23.1521

Series points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Bryce Fullwood 1414
2 Thomas Randle 1057
3 Kurt Kostecki 1022
4 Zane Goddard 1011
5 Dylan O’Keeffe 833
6 Brenton Grove 786
7 Tyler Everingham 739
8 Jack Smith 737
9 Jake Kostecki 722
10 Justin Ruggier 677
11 Ashley Walsh 669
12 Adam Marjoram 659
13 William Brown 609
14 Mason Barbera 590
15 Jordan Boys 567
16 Matthew Chahda 542
17 Brodie Kostecki 434
18 Jack Perkins 339
19 Dean Fiore 310
20 Tim Blanchard 258
21 Joel Heinrich 224
22 Abbie Eaton 76

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]