Wall secures Carrera Cup Bathurst pole


Thursday 10th October, 2019 - 6:29pm


David Wall

David Wall has secured pole position for Round 7 of Porsche Payce Carrera Cup Australia at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Wall laid down a 2:06.430s on his last flying lap, securing pole position by 0.1s over Nick McBride, while Cooper Murray completed the top three.

Jordan Love sat atop the leaderboard at the end of the first run of flying laps on a 2:06.974s, with the top six separated by under half a second.

The times began to tumble late in the second runs, with Wall the first of the heavy-hitters to improve.

Murray jumped to the top on a 2:06.881s, while Love slotted into second before being displaced by Wall.

Love’s pole chances were dashed after he had a wild moment at McPhillamy Park, narrowly missing the concrete wall and taking the shortcut at The Esses.

As the chequered flag flew, Wall crossed the line and improved to a 2:06.430, giving him pole position.

Murray also went quicker but fell 0.17s short, and was ultimately pipped to the front row by McBride.

With a damaged splitter Love still managed to grab fourth ahead of Cameron Hill in fifth.

The top 10 was completed by Steven Richards, Dale Wood, Michael Almond, Thomas Maxwell and Pro-Am pole-sitter Liam Talbot.

Race 1 for Carrera Cup Australia, which counts towards its Endurance Cup, takes place on Friday at 1340 local time/AEDT.

Results: Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Cls Fastest lap Split
1 38 PAYCE David Wall P 2:06.4306  
2 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 2:06.5353 0:00.1047
3 36 Lodge Brothers Cooper Murray P 2:06.6031 0:00.1725
4 777 Sonic / Bob Jane T-Marts/SRG Jordan Love P 2:06.6882 0:00.2576
5 111 Seears Workwear Cameron Hill P 2:06.8729 0:00.4423
6 12 O’Brien Electrical and Plumb Steve Richards P 2:06.9259 0:00.4953
7 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 2:06.9395 0:00.5089
8 77 Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts/PSA Aus Michael Almond P 2:07.0348 0:00.6042
9 5 Sonic Thomas Maxwell P 2:08.1046 0:01.6740
10 27 Wash It Liam Talbot A 2:08.5116 0:02.0810
11 20 Agas National Adrian Flack A 2:08.8743 0:02.4437
12 34 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Duvashen Padayachee P 2:08.9142 0:02.4836
13 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 2:09.2384 0:02.8078
14 6 Garage 1 Tim Miles A 2:09.4030 0:02.9724
15 23 Dayco / Lago Cold Stores Roger Lago A 2:09.5434 0:03.1128
16 22 BMF Dean Cook A 2:09.6108 0:03.1802
17 13 The Bend Motorsport Park/HTFU Sam Shahin A 2:09.8264 0:03.3958
18 30 DRM Motorsport David Ryan A 2:12.6799 0:06.2493
19 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 2:13.1774 0:06.7468
20 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor A 2:14.1184 0:07.6878
21 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 2:16.2380 0:09.8074 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!