Marquez clinches championship with Buriram victory

Marc Marquez pic:

Marc Marquez has won the 2019 MotoGP World Championship by beating Fabio Quartararo to victory in Thailand in a battle decided only at the last corner.

Marquez tailed Quartararo for the first 25 laps but finally made a move stick on the last lap around the Buriram International Circuit.

Quartararo tried to fight back with a last-corner dive but Marquez re-passed him on exit to clinch a sixth premier class title, and eighth in total, in thrilling fashion.

Behind the #93 Repsol Honda and #20 Petronas SRT Yamaha was the #12 Monster Energy Yamaha of Maverick Viñales, who ran third all the way.

Jack Miller apparently stalled his Pramac Ducati on the starting grid and had to push the bike into pit lane, while Quartararo led the field away when the lights went out, from Marquez and Viñales.

Andrea Dovizioso (Mission Winnow Ducati) gave his slim hopes of keeping the championship alive a boost by jumping from seventh to fourth by the exit of the first corner.

Marquez got a run on Quartararo as they headed towards Turn 3 on Lap 2, but was on the outside and ran long, failing to complete the move.

Aside from that moment, the Honda rider appeared happy to merely follow the satellite Yamaha, although he looked to be upping the pressure as the 26-lap race moved towards its halfway mark.

Marquez did not try another pass until Lap 23, a similar attempt to his earlier effort which was similarly unsuccessful.

However, he stuck with Quartararo and, on the 26th and final lap, was able to blaze past the rookie even earlier and get his bike stopped in time at Turn 3 to take first position.

Quartararo lunged back past the Spaniard at the final corner but was criss-crossed on exit and ultimately came up 0.171s short of a maiden MotoGP race win.

“I was planning the weekend for try to win the race, doesn’t matter the championship, doesn’t matter the distance between me and Dovi,” said Marquez.

“My target was (to) try to find the best way to win the race and is what I did.”

The contest between Marquez and Quartararo was extremely similar to that which they had two races ago in Misano, as was Viñales’ performance as he lost touch then started to recover ground only once it was too late to challenge for the win.

Dovizioso, the only rider still a mathematical chance of denying Marquez the championship at the start of the weekend, took the chequered flag nearly 10 seconds further back.

The Italian came under early pressure from compatriot Franco Morbidelli (Petronas SRT Yamaha) before he found himself in a battle with Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar), who finished 0.231s behind Dovizioso.

Morbidelli ended up sixth, ahead of Joan Mir (Suzuki Ecstar), and Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha).

The latter ran as high as sixth before losing spots to both the Suzukis in quick succession, on Laps 10 and 11.

Rounding out the top 10 were Danilo Petrucci (Mission Winnow Ducati) and Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu LCR Honda), while Miller finished 14th from a pit lane start.

Jorge Lorenzo (Repsol Honda) got home in 18th position but Mika Kallio (Red Bull KTM Factory) crashed out and Aleix Espargaro (Gresini Aprilia) retired in pit lane.

Dovizioso appears destined to finish runner-up in the championship for a third year straight given he is 48 points ahead of third placed Rins in the standings with four races to go.

Round 16 will be held at Japan’s Twin Ring Motegi on October 18-20.

Race results: Thailand MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time/Gap
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 39:36.223
2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +0.171
3 12 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +1.380
4 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati +11.218
5 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +11.449
6 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +14.466
7 36 Joan MIR ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +18.729
8 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +19.162
9 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Ducati Team Ducati +23.425
10 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +29.423
11 63 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA Pramac Racing Ducati +30.103
12 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda +33.216
13 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +35.667
14 43 Jack MILLER AUS Pramac Racing Ducati +39.736
15 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +40.038
16 88 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM +40.136
17 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +44.589
18 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda +54.723
19 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Reale Avintia Racing Ducati +56.012
20 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS Red Bull KTM Tech 3 KTM +1’01.431
DNF 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 9 Laps
DNF 82 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 23 Laps

Race winner: 26 laps

Championship points

Pos Rider Nat Pts
1 Marc MARQUEZ ESP 325
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA 215
3 Alex RINS ESP 167
4 Maverick VIÑALES ESP 163
5 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA 162
6 Valentino ROSSI ITA 145
8 Jack MILLER AUS 119
12 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN 74
13 Joan MIR ESP 58
15 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA 34
16 Andrea IANNONE ITA 33
17 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR 29
18 Johann ZARCO FRA 27
19 Jorge LORENZO ESP 23
20 Tito RABAT ESP 18
21 Stefan BRADL GER 16
22 Michele PIRRO ITA 9
23 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA 7
24 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAS 7
25 Karel ABRAHAM CZE 5
26 Bradley SMITH GBR  
27 Mika KALLIO FIN  

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]