Lowndes nominated for prestigious ‘The Don’ Award

Craig Lowndes has been nominated for ‘The Don’ Award

Craig Lowndes is one of nine athletes to have been nominated for ‘The Don’ Award as part of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame gala.

The seven-time Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winner is in the running for the honour, named after Sir Donald Bradman, following his victory with Steve Richards in last year’s edition of the Great Race.

“It is an incredible honour, he was one of the greatest athletes our country has seen,” said Lowndes.

“To be recognised as a finalist for such a prestigious award amongst Australian sporting greats – it makes me both proud to represent my sport of Supercars, but also my achievements during my career.

“To me, winning the Bathurst 1000 is the ultimate in our sport and one of Australia’s iconic sporting events.

“So to be a seven-time winner is something I will always be extremely proud of.

‘The Don’ was introduced in 1998 and is given annually to an athlete or team which has most inspired the nation.

Previous winners have included Mark Taylor, Cathy Freeman, Shane Warne, and the 2006 Australian football team.

Lowndes would become the first motor racing representative to take the award should he be named winner.

“Growing up as a kid I was an avid cricket fan. I even still have my junior club cricket bat,” Lowndes said.

“Sir Donald Bradman is an icon of Australian sport who transcended all codes.

“His ability, sportsmanship and conduct on and off the field is something I have always looked up to.”

Others nominated for the award are tennis players Dylan Alcott and Ashleigh Barty, rugby league player Cooper Cronk, cyclist Caleb Ewan, surfer Stephanie Gilmore, cricketers Ellyse Perry and Tim Paine, and swimmer Ariarne Titmus.

The gala is set to be held on October 10 in Melbourne, the same day as track action begins at Mount Panorama for this year’s Bathurst 1000.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]