Mouzouris wins Australian Formula Ford Championship

Angelo Mouzouris

Angelo Mouzouris has bagged another race win on his way to claiming the 2019 Australian Formula Ford Championship at Phillip Island.

Zac Soutar (Team Soutar Motorsport) consolidated second in the standings by taking out the final round of the season.

Soutar qualified on pole and won Race 1 of the weekend by 0.0349s, with Tom Sargent (CHE Racing) second, Callum Hedge (Sonic Motor Racing) third, and Mouzouris (Sonic) fourth.

Mouzouris and Cody Burcher (Synergy Motorsport) had the measure on the rest of the field when Race 2 was run on a drying track.

Less than a second separated them at the chequered flag, which confirmed Mouzouris’ championship triumph, while Sargent was almost eight seconds further back in third and Soutar fifth.

Not only had a Sonic driver won the series for a fourth year in a row another of their drivers, 16-year-old Jay Hanson, finished first in the final race of the season.

Soutar was just over three tenths back in second position, and Mouzouris was 11th.

Tim Hamilton won the Australian FF1600 Championship, while Mouzouris will test a Carrera Cup car at Queensland Raceway on November 20 as a result of taking the outright title.

Standings (Top 10)

Pos Driver Pts
1 Angelo Mouzouris 295
2 Zac Soutar 277
3 Thomas Sargent 235
4 Callum Hedge 230
5 Lachlan Mineeff 228
6 Cody Burcher 217
7 Jay Hanson 209
8 Courtney Prince 175
9 Cody Donald 121
10 Harrison Goodman 110

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]