Heimgartner stripped of maiden TCR podium 

Tom Howard

Sunday 22nd September, 2019 - 7:18pm


Andre Heimgartner (right) has lost third to Tony D’Alberto

Andre Heimgartner has been stripped of a maiden TCR Australia podium in Race 3 at Sandown after copping a post-race penalty.

The Kelly Racing driver had crossed the line third earning his and the team’s first podium but has since been hit with a 15 second penalty for passing under yellow flag conditions.

Heimgartner was judged to have overtaken Wall Racing’s Tony D’Alberto at Turn 1 under yellows due to Alexandra Whitley’s stricken Volkswagen Golf.

As a result of the sanction, D’Alberto has been promoted to the final podium spot while Heimgartner has dropped to eighth in the results.

Race 3 was won by Nestor Girolami, while HMO Customer Racing’s Will Brown finished eighth which was enough to secure the inaugural TCR Australia crown with a round to spare.   

Updated Results: TCR Australia Race 3, Sandown

Pos Num Driver Team Car Laps Time
1     38 Nestor Girolami (ARG)   Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   20 25:17.9768
2      3 Garth Tander (Vic)      Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            20 25:18.4446
3     50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   20 25:22.5334
4      8 Jason Bright (Vic)      Taskforce/Melb Performance Cnt Volkswagon Golf GTI  20 25:25.4375
5     62 Bryce Fullwood (NT)     Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         20 25:25.7936
6      2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagen Golf GTI  20 25:28.0687
7     30 William Brown (Qld)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 25:34.9130
8    777 Andre Heimgartner (NZ)  Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         20 25:35.7374
9     34 James Moffat (Vic)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    20 25:42.6370
10    11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 26:00.1114
11     9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Ashley Seward Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 26:31.9655
12    97 Liam McAdam (Qld)       Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            18 26:03.5963
DNF    7 Jordan Cox (NSW)        Garry Rogers Motorsport        Alfa Romeo Giulietta 19 24:08.1394
DNF   35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagon Golf GTI  11 14:34.0702 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!