Brown claims TCR crown, Girolami completes sweep

Will Brown

Will Brown has become the inaugural TCR Australia Series winner as Nestor Girolami completed a clean sweep of Round 6 with victory in Race 3 at Sandown.

The HMO Customer Racing driver endured an eventful race at Sandown that saw him spin at Turn 2 on the opening lap that handed a lifeline to title rival Dylan O’Keeffe (Ash Seward Motorsport).    

However, Brown managed to recover to eighth which was enough to secure the title after O’Keeffe (Ash Seward Motorsport, Alfa) could only finish 11th following an error of his own at Turn 9 on Lap 4.

Ultimately the incident handed the Brown the series with a round remaining at The Bend Motorsport Park in November. 

“It feels awesome. It’s a bit bitter-sweet after fencing it by myself, but we fought back and I was able to pass a few people and get there,” said Brown, who has scored six race wins this season. 

“I can’t thank the boys from HMO Customer Racing enough. 

“I got a really good start and then absolutely put it in the fence myself. That was disappointing.”

While Brown celebrated the title success, Girolami (Wall Racing, Honda) stamped his authority on the meeting as the WTCR driver wrapped up Race 3 despite coming under race long pressure from Garth Tander (Melbourne Performance Centre, Audi).   

Girolami streaked away at the start with team-mate Tony D’Alberto with Tander in third, but it wasn’t long before the order changed.

Tander managed to pass D’Alberto for second on Lap 2 with the Audi driver going on to apply pressure on Girolami.

D’Alberto held third until Lap 13 when Andre Heimgartner (Kelly Racing, Opel) managed to find a way through to the final podium spot, although the move is understood to be under investigation.    

Heimgartner went on to take third at the flag for Kelly Racing’s first TCR podium.

D’Alberto crossed the line in fourth ahead of Jason Bright (Alliance Autosport, Volkswagen).

Bryce Fullwood (Kelly Racing, Opel) finished sixth while Aaron Cameron (Melbourne Performance Centre, Volkswagen), Brown, James Moffat (Garry Rogers Motorsport, Renault) and Nathan Morcom rounded out the top 10.

TCR Australia heads to the Bend Motorsport Park for the season final from November 15-17.

UPDATE: Heimgartner was issued with a 15 second post-race penalty for overtaking under yellow flags.

UPDATED Results: TCR Australia Race 3, Sandown

Pos Num Driver Team Car Laps Time
1   38 Nestor Girolami (ARG) Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R 20 25:17.9768
2    3 Garth Tander (Vic)      Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS 3            20 25:18.4446
3   50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R 20 25:22.5334
4    8 Jason Bright (Vic)      Taskforce/Melb Performance Cnt Volkswagon Golf GTI 20 25:25.4375
5   62 Bryce Fullwood (NT)     Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         20 25:25.7936
6    2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagen Golf GTI 20 25:28.0687
7   30 William Brown (Qld)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 25:34.9130
8 777 Andre Heimgartner (NZ) Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         20 25:35.7374
9   34 James Moffat (Vic)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    20 25:42.6370
10   11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 26:00.1114
11    9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Ashley Seward Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 26:31.9655
12   97 Liam McAdam (Qld)       Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS 3            18 26:03.5963
DNF    7 Jordan Cox (NSW)        Garry Rogers Motorsport        Alfa Romeo Giulietta 19 24:08.1394
DNF   35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Melbourne Performance Centre Volkswagon Golf GTI 11 14:34.0702

TCR Australia Series Standings

Pos Driver Points
1   William Brown     625
2   Dylan O’Keeffe    481
3   Tony D’Alberto    473
4   Aaron Cameron     454
5   Nathan Morcom     436
6   James Moffat      394
7   Jason Bright      346
8   John Martin       328
9   Russell Ingall    288
10  Garth Tander      286
11  Jordan Cox        223
12  Leanne Tander     220
13  Alex Rullo        209
14  Andre Heimgartner 206
15  Chris Pither      186
16  Alexandra Whitley 175
17  Nestor Girolami   132
18  Hamish Ribarits   118
19  Molly Taylor      116
20  Liam McAdam       105
21  Jimmy Vernon       77
22  Bryce Fullwood     76
23  Michael Almond     74
24  Chelsea Angelo     56
25  Tim Brook          46
26  Jordan Michels     46
27  Jean-Karl Vernay   42
28  Rik Breukers       40
29  Aaron Seton         0


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]