Girolami cruises to victory in TCR Race 1

Tom Howard

Saturday 21st September, 2019 - 1:48pm


Nestor Girolami

WTCR ace Nestor Girolami produced a faultless drive to complete a lights-to-flag victory in TCR Australia Race 1 at Sandown.

The factory Honda driver ran largely untroubled after making a great start from pole position despite being faced with a damp but drying track.

Girolami, who is making a one-off appearance in the category, went on to take the win for Wall Racing by 2.2s.

The Argentine gambled by running slick tyres on the front with wets on the rear.

The battle for the remaining podium places dominated the action with John Martin (Wall Racing, Honda) holding second for the opening 12 laps, but was under immense pressure from series leader Will Brown (HMO Customer Racing, Hyundai) and Jordan Cox (Garry Rogers Motorsport, Alfa Romeo).

Martin, who appeared to be on wet tyres, struggled for pace as the track dried out, with Brown eventually taking second on Lap 12 at Turn 1

Brown went on to finish second while Cox claimed the final podium spot after following Brown in overtaking Martin.

Martin had to produce an incredible display of defensive driving to bring the car home in fifth, after losing out to a charging Garth Tander (Melbourne Performance Centre, Audi), who started from 11th on the grid. 

Liam McAdam (Melbourne Performance Centre, Audi) came home in sixth ahead of James Moffat (Garry Rogers Motorsport, Renault), while title contender Dylan O’Keeffe (Ash Seward Motorsport, Alfa Romeo), was eighth.

The top 10 was rounded out by Aaron Cameron (Melbourne Performance Centre, Volkswagen) and Nathan Morcom (HMO Customer Racing, Hyundai).

Kelly Racing’s Andre Heimgartner, who started second and ran in the top five early on, suffered a suspected suspension failure which saw him retire from the race.

Jason Bright also joined the list of retirements in his Alliance Autosport Volkswagen Golf.

Results: TCR Australia Race 1, Sandown

Pos Num Driver Team Car Laps Time
1    38 Nestor Girolami (ARG)   Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   20 26:00.7271
2    30 William Brown (Qld)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 26:02.9497
3     7 Jordan Cox (NSW)        Garry Rogers Motorsport        Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 26:10.9174
4     3 Garth Tander (Vic)      Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            20 26:12.5411
5    24 John Martin (NSW)       Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   20 26:15.6835
6    97 Liam McAdam (Qld)       Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            20 26:15.9660
7    34 James Moffat (Vic)      Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    20 26:16.2825
8     9 Dylan O’Keeffe (Vic)    Ashley Seward Motorsport       Alfa Romeo Giulietta 20 26:20.4079
9     2 Aaron Cameron (Vic)     Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagen Golf GTI  20 26:21.3056
10   11 Nathan Morcom (NSW)     HMO Customer Racing            Hyundai i30N         20 26:36.7466
11   33 Chris Pither (NZ)       Garry Rogers Motorsport        Renault Megane RS    20 26:38.1914
12  100 Russell Ingall (Qld)    Melbourne Performance Centre   Audi RS 3            20 27:00.7018
13   62 Bryce Fullwood (NT)     Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra         20 27:09.5344
14   35 Alexandra Whitley (Qld) Melbourne Performance Centre   Volkswagen Golf GTI  20 27:15.5164
15   50 Tony D’Alberto (Vic)    Wall Racing                    Honda Civic Type R   20 27:19.4446
DNF   8 Jason Bright (Vic)      Taskforce/Melb Performance Cnt Volkswagen Golf GTI  14 18:38.9701
DNF 777 Andre Heimgartner (NZ)  Kelly Racing                   Holden Astra          4  5:40.7907 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!