Macrow fastest in landmark first S5000 session

Tim Macrow

Tim Macrow took the honour of topping the first competitive session for the new V8 powered S5000 single seater series at Sandown.

The MTEC Motorsport driver, and long time S5000 test driver, hit the top of the timesheets just before the halfway mark with a 1:07.75s, before going on to progress to a 1:06.74s effort.

Macrow was almost a second faster than the field until the final minutes when Will Brown (Eggleston Motorsport) closed to within 0.4s of the former two-time Australian Formula 3 champion.

The session ran without incident with all 13 of the new S5000 cars logging times.

Supercars driver James Golding quickly found pace from his Garry Rogers Motorsport entry, sitting third at the mid-point where he remained at the chequered flag, 0.8s adrift.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the S5000. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Experienced single-seater driver John Martin (AGI Sport) was the first to log a lap in the 1:08s and continued to shave time off his benchmark to wind up in fourth.

Former IndyCar racer Matthew Brabham also enjoyed a brief period at the top of the timesheets but dropped to fifth at the chequered flag.

Meanwhile, 11-time Formula 1 race winner Rubens Barrichello was sixth fastest in his first competitive single seater session for seven years and maiden outing at Sandown.

The top 10 was rounded out by Alex Davison (Team BRM), Ricky Capo (Modena Engineering), Tim Berryman (Team BRM) and Tom Alexander (AGI Sport).

The S5000 field will return for a second 20 minute session at 1530 AEST.

Results: S5000 Practice 1, Sandown

Pos Num Driver Team Car Time Gap
1   23  Tim Macrow     MTEC Motorsport S5000 1:06.7447
2   38  Will Brown         Eggleston Motorsport          S5000 1:07.1826 00.4379
3   31  James Golding      Garry Rogers Motorsport    S5000 1:07.5724 00.8277
4   24  John Martin        AGI Sport                     S5000 1:07.6645 00.9198
5   83  Matthew Brabham     MTEC Motorsport                       S5000 1:07.6951 00.9504
6  111  Rubens Barrichello Team BRM                  S5000 1:08.0967 01.3520
7    8  Alex Davison       Team BRM                   S5000 1:08.2747 01.5300
8   34  Ricky Capo         Modena Engineering            S5000 1:08.4288 01.6841
9   33  Tim Berryman      Team BRM                      S5000 1:09.5461 02.8014
10  22  Tom Alexander      AGI Sport                     S5000 1:10.3655 03.6208
11  27  Barton Mawer        Milldun Motorsport                         S5000 1:11.9512 05.2065
12  11  Michael Gibson     Australian Racing Enterprises S5000 1:13.3221 06.5774
13  97  Taylor Cockerton    MTEC Motorsport               S5000 1:13.6812 06.9365

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]